Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne's Sattelberger appointed chair of Dept. of Energy Fuel Cycle R&D Subcommittee

April 29, 2013

Al Sattelberger, Argonne's Associate Laboratory Director for Energy Engineering and Systems Analysis (EESA), has been appointed as the chair for the Fuel Cycle R&D Subcommittee of the Department of Energy's Nuclear Energy Advisory (NEAC) Committee, effective April 23, 2013.

The appointment was made by Dr. Peter Lyons, the Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, and Richard Meserve, the current Chair of NEAC. Areas for review by the subcommittee include fuel cycle options, advanced fuels, separations and waste forms, used fuel disposition, and material protection, control, and accountability technologies.

Dr. Sattelberger is also a member of the full NEAC Committee. 

As Associate Lab Director for EESA, Dr. Sattelberger oversees Argonne’s programs in nuclear energy, energy systems, transportation, national security, and decision and information sciences.