Argonne National Laboratory

Carrado Gregar inducted into American Chemical Society

August 2, 2012

Kathleen Carrado Gregar, the User and Outreach Programs Manager at the Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory, has been elected to the 2012 class of Fellows of the American Chemical Society (ACS).

The ACS Fellows Program recognizes members for their outstanding achievements in and contributions to the chemical sciences. Carrado Gregar and the rest of the 2012 class will be honored at a special ceremony during the ACS National Meeting in Philadelphia in August.

With more than 164,000 members, the ACS is the world’s largest scientific society and one of the world’s leading sources of authoritative scientific information.

Carrado Gregar has been at Argonne since 1987 when she began as a postdoctoral associate in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division, eventually becoming leader of the Catalyst Design Group.

In 2006, she moved to the CNM, where she is responsible for the development of collaborative partnerships with academia, industry and the user community at large, as well as managing user programs administration.

Carrado Gregar obtained a Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from the University of Connecticut. Her research in layered materials for nanocatalysis and nanocomposites has resulted in over 60 publications, 11 books and book chapters, and 5 patents. She has served as Chair, Program Chair and Director-at-Large for the ACS Division of Fuel Chemistry and also as an ACS National Councilor.

The ACS citation recognizes Carrado Gregar’s more than 20 years of experience as a productive research chemist in nanocatalysis and nanocomposites, as well as her effective management of user and outreach programs at a Department of Energy Nanoscale Science Research Center.

The Center for Nanoscale Materials is one of the five DOE Nanoscale Science Research Centers, premier national user facilities for interdisciplinary research at the nanoscale supported by the U.S. Department of Energy, Office of Science. Together the NSRCs comprise a suite of complementary facilities that provide researchers with state-of-the-art capabilities to fabricate, process, characterize and model nanoscale materials, and constitute the largest infrastructure investment of the National Nanotechnology Initiative. The NSRCs are located at DOE's Argonne, Brookhaven, Lawrence Berkeley, Oak Ridge, Sandia and Los Alamos National Laboratories. For more information about the DOE NSRCs, please click here.

The U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation’s first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America’s scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science.