Argonne National Laboratory

Users Executive Committee

The Users' Executive Committee (UEC) serves as an advocacy group for the Center for Nanoscale Materials (CNM) and its user community, provides advice to the Director on matters affecting the user community, and ensures good communication between the CNM user community and CNM management. The CNM UEC is also responsible for organizing the scientific content of the annual Users Meetings.

Name Institution E-Mail Term
Goran Karapetrov
(Chair)
Department of Physics
Drexel University
goran@drexel.edu 2015-2018
James Rondinelli
(Vice-Chair)
Department of Materials Science & Engineering
Northwestern University
jrondinelli@northwestern.edu 2016-2019
Renaud Bachelot Laboratory of Nanotechnology, Instrumentation and Optics
University of Technology of Troyes, France
renaud.bachelot@utt.fr 2017-2020
Xuemei Cheng Department of Physics
Bryn Mawr College
xcheng@brynmawr.edu 2017-2020
Stephan Hruszkewycz Materials Science Division
Argonne National Laboratory
shrus@anl.gov 2015-2018
Olga Makarova Creatv MicroTech, Inc. olga@creatvmicrotech.com 2016-2019
CD Phatak Materials Science Division
Argonne National Laboratory
cd@anl.gov 2015-2018
Joshua Wood MicroLink Devices, Inc. jwood@mldevices.com 2017-2020
Zhili Xiao Department of Physics, Northern Illinois University &
Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory
zxiao@niu.edu 2016-2019
Yasuo Ito
(ex officio)
Department of Physics
Northern Illinois University
yito@niu.edu 2014-2017

Past Chairs

  • Yasuo Ito, Northern Illinois University, 2014-2017
  • Steve Smith, South Dakota School of Mines & Technology 2013-2016
  • Seungbum Hong, Argonne National Laboratory, 2012-2015
  • Steven May, Drexel University, 2011-2014
  • John Freeland, Argonne National Laboratory, 2009-2013
  • Greg Wurtz, King's College London, 2008-2012
  • Dillon Fong, Argonne National Laboratory, 2007-2011
  • Paul Evans, University of Wisconsin - Madison, 2006-2009

Past Members

  • Mitra Taheri, Drexel University, 2014-2017
  • Lin Wang, Center for High Pressure Science & Technology Advanced Research, 2014-2017
  • Matthew Grayson, Northwestern University, 2013-2016
  • Axel Hoffmann, Argonne National Laboratory, 2013-2016
  • Carmen Lilley, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2012-2015
  • Conal Murray, IBM TJ Watson Research Center, 2011-2014
  • Kristen Buchanan, Colorado State University, 2009-2013
  • Yi Ji, University of Delaware, 2008-2012
  • Teri Odom, Northwestern University, 2007-2011
  • Mike Moldovan, ADT, Inc., 2006-2009
  • Gayle Woloschak, Northwestern University, 2006-2009
  • Vitali Metlushko, University of Illinois at Chicago, 2006-2008