Argonne National Laboratory

Charlie Catlett

Senior Computer Scientist
- Mathematics and Computer Science

Charlie Catlett is a Senior Computer Scientist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory in the Mathematics and Computer Science Division and a Senior Fellow at the Argonne / University of Chicago Computation Institute. His current focus areas include cyber security, distributed computing and mobile/embedded computing. From 2007-2011, Catlett served as Argonne’s Chief Information Officer.

Prior to joining Argonne in 2000, Catlett was Chief Technology Officer at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications (NCSA). He was part of the original team that established NCSA in 1985 and his early work there included participation on the team that deployed and managed the NSFNet. In the early 1990′s Catlett participated in the DARPA/NSF Gigabit Testbeds Initiative, coordinated by the Corporation for National Research Initiatives.

Catlett was the founding chair of the Global Grid Forum (GGF, now Open Grid Forum) from 1999 through 2004. During this same period he designed and deployed one of the first regional optical networks dedicated to academic and research use – I-WIRE, funded by the State of Illinois.

He has been involved in Grid (distributed) computing since the early 1990s, when he co-authored (with Larry Smarr) a seminal paper “Metacomputing” in the Communications of the ACM, which outlined many of the high-level goals of what is today called Grid computing.

Catlett was also named to the Crain’s Chicago Business Tech 50 list for 2014, an annual list that includes people from research laboratories, academia, industry – from entrepreneurs to techies – those who are “shaping Chicago’s technology digital scene.”

Awards, Honors, and Memberships

  • “Founder’s Award,” 2005, presented by Global Grid Forum, in appreciation for serving as founding chair.
  • F. W. Ellersick Prize.  1992. Annual award for best paper in an IEEE Communications Society publication.
  • Committee of Visitors, Texas Advanced Computing Center. (2009-present)
  • Board of Directors, Open Grid Forum international standards body. (2006-present)
  • Science Research Council, National Lambda Rail (2006-present)
  • Science Advisory Council, Global Environment for Network Innovations (GENI, 2007-present)