Argonne National Laboratory

George Crabtree, Argonne Distinguished Fellow

George Crabtree

Argonne Distinguished Fellow, Director of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research
- Materials Science

George Crabtree holds the ranks of Senior Scientist, Distinguished Fellow and Associate Division Director in the Materials Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also Director of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research.

He has won numerous awards for his research, most recently the Kammerlingh Onnes Prize in 2003 for his work on the physics of vortices in high temperature superconductors. This prestigious prize is awarded once every three years; Dr. Crabtree is its second recipient.

He has won the U.S. Department of Energy’s Award for Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Solid State Physics four times, a notable accomplishment. He has an R&D 100 Award for his pioneering development of Magnetic Flux Imaging Systems. He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society, a charter member of ISI’s Highly Cited Researchers in Physics, and a Member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Crabtree has published more than 400 papers in leading scientific journals, collected more than 15,000 career citations, and has given more than 100 invited talks at national and international scientific conferences.  His research interests include materials science, sustainable energy, nanoscale superconductors and magnets, vortex matter in superconductors, and highly correlated electrons in metals.

He has led workshops for the Department of Energy on hydrogen, solar energy, superconductivity, and materials under extreme environments, co-chaired the Undersecretary of Energy’s assessment of DOE’s Applied Energy Programs. He has testified before the U.S. Congress on the hydrogen economy and on meeting sustainable energy challenges.

Selected Awards, Honors, and Memberships

  • Member, National Academy of Sciences, 2008-present
  • Co-Chair and Report Editor, “Facing our Energy Challenges in a New Era of Science”, subcommittee of the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee, Department of Energy, 2008
  • Co-chair, Under Secretary of Energy’s Assessment of Applied Energy Programs, 2005-2006
  • Kamerlingh Onnes Prize, 2003, “for pioneering and seminal experiments which elucidated the vortex phase diagram in high temperature superconductors under various conditions of disorder and anisotropy,” (awarded once every three years)
  • ISI Highly Cited Researcher in Physics since 2001
  • Divisional Associate Editor, Physical Review Letters, 1998 – 2001
  • R&D 100 Award, “Magnetic Flux Imaging System,” 1996
  • Editor, Physica C, 1987- 2003
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 1983


  • More than 440 publications in peer-reviewed journals
  • Over 15,000 career citations (36 citations/paper on average)