Argonne National Laboratory

Linda Young, X-ray Science Division Director, Distinguished Fellow

Linda Young

Argonne Distinguished Fellow
- X-ray Science

Linda Young is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow leader in the field of atomic, molecular and optical physics and former director of the X-ray Science Division at Argonne. Recently, she has conducted research at Argonne's Advanced Photon Source, the Linac Coherent Light Source (LCLS) at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and the Advanced Light Source at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in California. Her current research focuses on the use of strong electromagnetic fields to manipulate electronic and geometrical properties of atoms and molecules.

Awards, Honors & Memberships

  • University of Chicago, Distinguished Performance Award, 2007
  • Distinguished Travelling Lecturer, Division of Laser Science, American Physical Society, 2007-present
  • American Physical Society Fellow
  • Visiting Fellow of the Joint Institute of Laboratory Astrophysics (JILA), University of Colorado, 1992-1993, 2007


  • 2011-present: Vice Chair, Chair-elect of the Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics of the American Physical Society (DAMOP)
  • 2009-present: Director, X-ray Science Division
  • 2007-present: Argonne Distinguished Fellow
  • 2009-present:  Chair, Linac Coherent Light Source, Scientific Advisory Committee
  • 2012-present:  DESY Scientific Council
  • 2012-present:  Scientific Advisory Council, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, für Materialien und Energie GmbH
  • 2008-2011:  American Physical Society, Physics Policy Committee
  • 2005-2007: Allis Prize Committee, American Physical Society (APS)
  • 2004-2007: Scientific Advisory Committee, Advanced Light Source, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • 2003-2011: Program Advisory Committee, Synchrotron Radiation Center, Stoughton, WI
  • 1989-present: Associate Editor, Applied Physics Letters
  • 2003-2004: Schawlow Prize Committee, American Physical Society, Vice-Chair-Chair
  • 1999-2002: Executive Committee of Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, APS
  • 1998-2001: Executive Committee of Division of Laser Science, APS
  • 1998-2000: F.M. Pipkin Award Committee, American Physical Society, Vice-Chair-Chair
  • 1996-1999: Executive Committee of Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants, APS
  • 1996-1999: National Research Council Committee on Atomic, Molecular and Optical Science

Select Patents and Publications

  • “Unveiling and Driving Hidden Resonances with High-Fluence, High- Intensity X-Ray Pulses,” E. P. Kanter et al., Physical Review Letters 107, 233001 (2011)
  • “Femtosecond electronic response of atoms to ultra-intense X-rays,” L. Young et al.,  Nature 466, 56 (2010)
  • “Controlling X-rays with light”, T. E. Glover et al., Nature Physics 6, 69 (2010)
  • "Electromagnetically induced transparency for x-rays," C. Buth, R. Santra, L Young, Phys. Rev. Lett.  98, 253001:1-4 (2007)
  • "Alignment dynamics in a laser-produced plasma," C. Höhr et al, Phys. Rev. A 75, 011403:1-4 (2007)
  • "Spin-orbit effect on strong-field ionization of krypton," R. Santra, R. W. Dunford, and L. Young, Phys. Rev. A 74, 043403:1-9 (2006)
  • "X-ray microprobe of orbital alignment in strong-field ionized atoms," L. Young et al., Phys. Rev. Lett. 97, 083601:1-4 (2006)