Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne Distinguished Fellows

The Argonne Distinguished Fellow is the highest scientific/engineering rank at the laboratory, and this distinction is held by only a small fraction (approximately 3 percent) of the research staff. Staff members who achieve this rank have a widely recognized international reputation and have demonstrated exceptional achievements in science or engineering that are relevant to Argonne’s core missions (e.g., seminal discoveries or advances that have broad influence and impact) or have provided critical technical leadership of major, complex, high-priority projects or programs that impacted the future directions of the laboratory or its mission.

This distinction is conferred each year on a maximum of four members of the current R&D science and engineering staff. Researchers in the Energy and Global Security Directorate who have received this honor are listed below.

Energy Systems

  • Balu Balachandran
  • Ali Erdemir
  • Larry Johnson
  • Michael Wang

Global Security Sciences

  • Charles Macal

Nuclear Energy

  • Yoon Chang
  • Yousry Gohar
  • Hussein Khalil
  • Ken Natesan
  • George Vandegrift