Argonne National Laboratory

Awards & Achievements


  • 2014 U.S. Department of Energy, Vehicle Technologies Office, Distinguished Achievement Award, Larry Johnson
  • 2014 U.S. Department of Energy, Vehicle Technologies Office, Research and Development Award
  • 2014 R&D 100 Award, "Sequential Infiltration Synthesis Lithography," Seth Darling, Jeffrey Elam, Qing Peng, Yu-Chih Tseng,  David Czaplewski,  Anil Mane and Leonidas Ocola
  • 2014 R&D 100 Award, "Advanced Redox Shuttle Additive for Overcharge Protection of Lithium-ion Batteries Used in Electric Cars," John Zhang and Greg Krumdick
  • 2014 High Performance Computing Innovation Excellence Award, Sibendu Som
  • 2014 Federal Laboratory Consortium Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer, Jason Harper and Aaron Sauers
  • 2014 SAE McFarland Award, Riccardo Scarcelli and James Miller


  • 2013 USCAR Team Award, Michael Wang and Amgad Elgowainy
  • 2013 National Safety Council Rising Star for Safety, Bryan Wozny
  • 2013 University of Chicago Outstanding Safety Leadership Award, Bryan Wozny
  • 2013 U.S. Department of Energy Vehicle Technologies Office/Fuel Cell Technology Office R&D Award, Khalil Amine, Michael Wang, and Amgad Elgowainy


  • 2012 Argonne Distinguished Fellow, Larry Johnson
  • 2012 R&D 100 Award, Ultra-Fast and Large-Scale Boriding, Ali Erdemir
  • 2012 R&D 100 Award, Large Area Microchannel Plates, Jeff Elam
  • New Venture Challenge Award, Dan Schabacker and Aeraj ul Haque
  • 2012 SAE McFarland Award, Thomas Wallner and Mike Duoba
  • 2012 FLC Award, Resin Wafer Technology, Seth Snyder
  • 2012 Argonne Pacesetter Award, Green Racing Simulator, Forrest Jehlik and Danny Bocci


  • Member Emeritus, Transportation Research Board, Marianne Mintz
  • 2011 R&D 100 Award, Advanced Ceramic Film Capacitors for Power Electronics in Electric Drive Vehicles, Balu Balachandran, Beihai Ma and Manoj Narayanan
  • 2011 R&D 100 Award, Enhanced Renewable Methane Production System, Seth Snyder, Richard Doctor, Michael Henry and Meltem Demirtas
  • Elected President, Council for Chemical Research, Seth Snyder
  • Cited one of "the best and brightest innovators in the energy labs" by Innovation (America's Journal of Technology Commercialization), Dan Schabacker
  • Distinguished Performance Award, University of Chicago, Aymeric Rousseau
  • Distinguished Performance Award, University of Chicago, Ali Erdemir
  • Individual Award for Safety Leadership, University of Chicago, Greg Krumdick
  • Named to "Electrifying 100 List," Automotive News, Don Hillebrand
  • Fellow, Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers, Oyelayo O. Ajayi
  • 2011 Presentation Award for Young Researchers and Engineers: Outstanding Presentation Award, Japan Society of Automotive Engineers, Thomas Wallner
  • Environmental Protection Agency, Outstanding Researcher Award, Henning Lohse-Busch
  • Society of Automotive Engineers, Lloyd L. Withrow Distinguished Speaker, Thomas Wallner
  • Argonne National Lab, Argonne Pacesetter Award, Michael Duoba, Glenn Keller, Henning Lohse-Busch, Danny Bocci, Michael Kern, Dave Bell, Geoff Amann, Eric Rask, Dave Shimcoski


  • Henry Souther Standards Award, Mike Duoba
  • Argonne Distinguished Fellow, Ali Erdemir
  • American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Fellow, Ali Erdemir
  • U.S. Department of Energy, Vehicle Technology Program Merit Review Award "in recognition of outstanding contributions designing, developing and making PSAT the industry standard for lifecycle and cost modeling," Aymeric Rousseau


  • R&D 100 Award for "super hard and slick coating (SSC) for increased engine efficiency and component reliability," Ali Erdemir and Osman Eryilmaz
  • The Minerals, Metals & Materials Society, Extraction and Processing Division, 2009 Technology Award, Bassam Jody, Joe Pomolyka, Jeff Spangenberg and Ed Daniels


  • Arun Wagh named a Fellow in the American Ceramic Society
  • Annual International Pittsburgh Coal Conference, Award for Honorable Mention Technical Paper, "Development of Membranes for Purifying Hydrogen produced by Coal Gasification and/or Methane Reforming," U. (Balu) Balachandran, Tae H. Lee, Yubxiang Lu, Chan Young Park, and Stephen E. Dorris
  • University of Chicago, Recognition for contributions to the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Richard Doctor, and Steven Plotkin
  • R&D 100 Award for "ultrananocrystalline diamond seal technology," John Hryn, Greg Krumdick, Jeffrey Elam, and Joseph Libera
  • British Petroleum, Ernst W. Thiele Award for "innovative application of multiphase theory and computational fluid dynamics in the areas of nuclear, fossil and biochemical engineering," Robert Lyczkowski