Argonne National Laboratory

Upcoming Events

1913-2013: The Centennial Anniversary of the Birth of X-ray Crystallography

XSD Special Presentation
Denny Mills (PSC), Deputy Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences
February 5, 2013 1:00PM to 2:00PM
Building 401, Room A1100
The year 2013 marks the 100th anniversary of the publication of Bragg’s Law by W. L. Bragg and the publication of the first crystal structure determination by x-rays, by W.H. Bragg and W.L. Bragg.

This presentation will include a brief introductory discussion regarding the knowledge of the generation and scattering of x-rays in this time period, some personal background regarding the Braggs, and how Laue’s famous photograph set the stage for this father and son team to not only win the Nobel Prize for Physics in 1915 "For their services in the analysis of crystal structure by means of X-rays," but to change the world of science for many years to come through their development of x-ray crystallography