Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne integrates world-class science, engineering, and user facilities to deliver innovative research and technologies. We create new knowledge that addresses the scientific and societal needs of our nation.

Paul Kearns
Paul Kearns, Laboratory director
Laboratory Director

Paul K. Kearns is the director of the U.S. Department of Energy's Argonne National Laboratory. He is responsible for guiding development and implementation of the laboratory’s strategic vision and leading Argonne to deliver outstanding performance in science and technology, operations, employee health and safety, and environmental protection. Dr. Kearns promotes a culture of innovation and collaboration within the laboratory and helps Argonne maintain strong strategic partnerships.

Matthew Tirrell
Deputy Laboratory Director for Science, Chief Research Officer, and Manager of the Laboratory-Directed Research and Development program

Matthew Tirrell is Deputy Laboratory Director for Science, Chief Research Officer, and Manager of the Laboratory-Directed Research and Development program at Argonne National Laboratory. He is responsible for integrating the laboratory’s research and development efforts and science and technology capabilities. He develops and drives strategy to support integrated teams across disciplines in support of Argonne’s strategic initiatives. He assists in reviews of scientific programs and chairs the safety Corrective Action Review Board.

John P. Quintana
Deputy Laboratory Director for Operations and Chief Operations Officer

John P. Quintana is the Deputy Director for Operations and Chief Operations Officer at Argonne National Laboratory. Leveraging extensive experience in engineering, research, and management, Dr. Quintana works with leaders across the laboratory to continuously improve mission support services offered with high quality leadership, effectiveness, and efficiency.

Jeffrey Binder
Photo of Jeffrey Binder
Associate Laboratory Director, Energy & Global Security Directorate

Jeffrey L. Binder is the Associate Laboratory Director of Argonne National Laboratory’s Energy and Global Security (EGS) Directorate, a team that applies crosscutting expertise in science, engineering and information systems to deliver environmentally sound solutions to challenges in energy access and global security.

Rick Stevens
Associate Laboratory Director

Rick Stevens is Associate Laboratory Director for Computing, Environment and Life Sciences. Stevens oversees a research program that connects computing to several areas of inquiry, and heads Argonne's research initiatives for both exascale computing and computational biology. He is a professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Chicago, a Senior Fellow of the Computation Institute, and a Senior Fellow of the Institute for Genomics and Systems Biology.

Stephen Streiffer
Stephen Streiffer, Associate Lab Director
Associate Laboratory Director

Stephen Streiffer is the Associate Laboratory Director for Photon Sciences at Argonne. Photon Sciences consists of the X-ray Science, Accelerator Systems and Advanced Photon Source Engineering Support divisions, which comprise the Advanced Photon Source (APS), the largest scientific user facility in North America; and the Argonne Accelerator Institute.

Michael Norman
Interim Associate Laboratory Director & Argonne Distinguished Fellow

Mike Norman is Interim Associate Laboratory Director of Argonne's Physical Sciences and Engineering Directorate, an Argonne Distinguished Fellow and Director of the Materials Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also a principal investigator in the Center for Emergent Superconductivity, a DOE Energy Frontier Research Center. He became a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1995, received the University of Chicago Distinguished Performance Award in 1999, was on the Editorial Board of Physical Review B from 2000-2005, and is currently on the Editorial Board for Physical Review X.

Suresh Sunderrajan
Suresh Sunderrajan
Associate Laboratory Director & Chief Technology Officer

Suresh Sunderrajan is the Associate Laboratory Director of Argonne National Laboratory’s Science and Technology Partnerships and Outreach Directorate, which works with the laboratory’s research directorates to develop strategies that sustain and expand the lab’s relationships with industry, academia, government and other sectors.

Stu Hannay
Stu Hannay
Senior Director & Chief Information Officer

Stu Hannay is Chief Information Officer and Senior Director of Argonne National Laboratory’s Business Information Services Directorate. BIS executes a strategy of business transformation through technology processes, platforms and systems including: applications development, delivery, and support; infrastructure; telecommunications; library services; knowledge management; cyber security; and business intelligence to enable data-driven decision-making.

Leslie Krohn
Leslie Krohn
Chief Communications Officer and Division Director, Communications and Public Affairs

Leslie Krohn joined Argonne National Laboratory in 2018 to lead their Communications and Public Affairs division. Prior to Argonne, Leslie held leadership roles in communications and marketing at Nielsen, Sara Lee, GE and Accenture. She earned a Masters in Integrated Marketing Communication at Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism, and a Bachelor's in American Studies from the University of Notre Dame.

Julie Nuter
Julie Nuter
Senior Director & Chief Human Resources Officer

Julie Nuter is Chief Human Resources Officer and Senior Director of Argonne National Laboratory’s Human Resource Services Directorate. HRS oversees the laboratory’s talent strategy, seeking to attract and retain the people the lab needs to excel; sustain a diverse and inclusive culture that helps the lab succeed and thrive; and inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers through educational programs.

Gail Stine
Gail Stine
Senior Director

Gail Stine is Senior Director of Argonne National Laboratory’s Infrastructure Services Directorate, which provides strategic site stewardship through infrastructure planning and modernization; project management; facilities management, including nuclear facilities; waste management; site services; and security and emergency management.