Skip to main content
Press Release | Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne honors employees for outstanding performance

ARGONNE, Ill. (Aug. 13, 2013) -- On Thursday, Aug. 15, 2013, the UChicago Argonne, LLC, Board of Governors will host an awards ceremony to honor employees of Argonne National Laboratory for their distinguished performance, outstanding service to the laboratory, excellence in safety leadership, and education and academic scholarship.

The University of Chicago Distinguished Performance Award recognizes Argonne employees who have made significant contributions to scientific and technological research.  Lois Curfman McInnes from Rockville, Md., will receive the award for her outstanding technical contributions and leadership in performance computing and computational science.  Jeffrey Eastman from Naperville, Ill., Dillon Fong from Elmhurst, Ill., and Paul Fuoss will be recognized for their pioneering study of the structure and function of materials using X-ray techniques.  Elena Rozhkova and Valentyn Novosad will receive this award for their interdisciplinary cancer treatment research, combining their expertise in chemistry and physics.  Gary Wiederrecht will be awarded for his leadership of Argonne’s Center for Nanoscale Materials and his research on nanomaterials for applications in solar energy.

The Outstanding Service Award honors employees for years of exceptional performance. Winners this year are Mary Ellen Hennebry from Lemont, Ill., Judith Stickels from Joliet, Ill., Marcia Wood from Lemont, Ill. and Ronald Vollmer from Naperville, Ill. and Zbigniew Zych from Lemont, Ill.  For embodying Argonne’s commitment to safety in the workplace, the Laboratory Director’s Award for Outstanding Safety Leadership will be awarded to Bryan Wozny from Darien, Ill.  The Laboratory Director’s Team Award for Outstanding Safety Performance will be awarded to the CARIBU Project Team, for its rigorous management of the transfer of radioactive elements between national laboratories.    

The Pinnacle of Education Award recognizes individuals for their leadership in science education outreach. Recipients are Joseph Adduci from Glen Ellyn, Ill., and the Sustainability Team, including Devin Hodge from Orland Park, Ill., Dejan Ristic and Diana Anderson from Lemont, Ill., for their work promoting sustainable practices in the Argonne community and beyond.  The University of Chicago Scholarship Award, which provides tuition for the child of an Argonne employee to attend the University of Chicago, will be awarded to Ammar Kalimullah, the son of Mohammad Kalimullah, from Downers Grove, Ill.

The ceremony will be held at 2 p.m. at Argonne’s Building 402 Auditorium.

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation’s first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America’s scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science.