Skip to main content
Press Release | Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne scientist Orlando Auciello named AAAS fellow for contributions in materials science

ARGONNE, Ill. — Orlando Auciello of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory has been awarded the distinction of Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Election as a Fellow is an honor bestowed upon AAAS members by their peers.

This year 486 members have been awarded this honor by AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. New Fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin on Saturday, Feb. 14, from 8 to 10 a.m. at the AAAS Fellows Forum during the 2009 AAAS Annual Meeting in Chicago.

This year’s AAAS Fellows were announced in the AAAS News & Notes section of the journal Science on Dec. 19, 2008.

As part of the Materials Science Division and the Center for Nanoscale Materials at the laboratory, Auciello was elected as an AAAS Fellow for outstanding technical accomplishments in the science and technology of thin films and for distinguished service to the materials research profession.

He earned his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in physics from the Institute Dr. Balseiro” (National University of Cuyo and Atomic Energy Commission, Argentina ) with a thesis on basic physics of ion interaction with solids. After graduation, he held various academic and industrial positions in Canada and the United States before coming to Argonne.

Auciello is a member of several scientific societies, author or co-author in about 450 publications, and co-author in fifteen patents on different subjects from electrodes for non-volatile ferroelectric memories to field emission cathodes for flat panel displays and other devices. He is an editor of 18 books on the science and technology of ion, plasma and laser interaction with solids and the science and technology of thin films. He is co-editor of the book series Multifunctional Thin Films published by Springer.

He is the recipient of several Awards, including:

  • 2003 Hispanic Engineering Award, for contributions to the science of thin films.
  • 2003 and 2008 R&D 100 Award for the UNCD technology.
  • 2006 Federation of National Laboratories Award for co-founding Advanced Diamond Technology to commercialize the UNCD technology invented at Argonne.
  • 2007 Professor Honoris Causa” from the University of Córdoba-Argentina.
  • 2008 University of Chicago Distinguished Performance Award.

The tradition of AAAS Fellows began in 1874. Currently, members can be considered for the rank of Fellow if nominated by the steering groups of the association’s 24 sections, or by any three Fellows who are current AAAS members (so long as two of the three sponsors are not affiliated with the nominee’s institution), or by the AAAS chief executive officer.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is the world’s largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science (www​.sci​encemag​.org). AAAS was founded in 1848 and includes some 262 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of 1 million. The non-profit AAAS (www​.aaas​.org) is open to all and fulfills its mission to advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education and more. For the latest research news, log onto EurekAlert!(www​.eurekalert​.org) the premier science-news Web site, a service of AAAS.