Skip to main content
Press Release | Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne’s Marc Snir receives 2013 IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Award

LOS ALAMITOS, Calif. Parallel computing expert Marc Snir, a major contributor to the Message Passing Interface, has been named the recipient of this year’s IEEE Computer Society Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award.

Snir is Director of the Mathematics and Computer Science division at Argonne National Laboratory and the Michael Faiman and Saburo Muroga Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, where he headed the Computer Science Department from 2001 to 2007. He is currently pursuing research in programming environments for high-performance computing.  

One of IEEE Computer Society’s highest awards, the Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award is presented in recognition of innovative contributions to high-performance computing systems that best exemplify Cray’s creative spirit. The award consists of a crystal memento, a certificate, and a $10,000 honorarium.

Until 2001, Snir was a senior manager at the IBM T. J. Watson Research Center, where he led the Scalable Parallel Systems research group responsible for major contributions to the IBM SP scalable parallel system and to the IBM Blue Gene system.

He received a PhD in mathematics from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem in 1979, worked at New York University on the NYU Ultracomputer project from 1980 to 82, and was at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem from 1982 to 86, before joining IBM.

An Argonne Distinguished Fellow, AAAS Fellow, ACM Fellow, and IEEE Fellow, Snir has published numerous papers and given many presentations on computational complexity, parallel algorithms, parallel architectures, interconnection networks, parallel languages, libraries, and parallel programming environments.

Cray was a U.S. electrical engineer and supercomputer architect who designed a series of computers that for decades were the fastest in the world. He founded Cray Research, which would build many of these machines. Called the father of supercomputing,” Cray has been credited with creating the supercomputer industry. 

Previous Seymour Cray Award recipients were Ken Batcher, John Cocke, Glen Culler, William J. Dally, Monty Denneau, Alan Gara, John L. Hennessy, Peter  Kogge, Kenichi Miura, Steven L. Scott, Charles Seitz, Burton J. Smith, Steven Wallach, and Tadashi Watanabe.

About IEEE Computer Society: IEEE Computer Society is the world’s leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, the IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. The Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars,professional training, and the TechLeader Training Partner Program to help organizations increase their staff’s technical knowledge and expertise. The Computer Society is the producer of Rock Stars of Big Data, the must-attend big data event of the year, and the personalized information tool, myComputer, now available at an introductory price. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit http://​www​.com​put​er​.org.