Skip to main content
Feature Story | Argonne National Laboratory

Leyffer named editor-in-chief of Mathematical Programming Series B

Sven Leyffer, a senior computational mathematician in Argonne’s Mathematics and Computer Science Division, has been named editor-in-chief of the journal Mathematical Programming Series B.

Leyffer is a world leader in both the theory and the development of numerical optimization.  He was named a SIAM Fellow in 2009, as part of SIAM’s first fellowship class. He served as editor-in-chief of Mathematical Methods of Operations Research from 2008 to 2014, and he currently is on the editorial board of Computational Optimization and Applications. He was co-winner of the Lagrange Prize in Optimization in 2006 and won the Farkas Prize for Mid-Career Researchers in 2016.

Mathematical Programming Series B (MPB) devotes each issue to a single subject of current interest to the mathematical programming community. An issue may be a collection of original articles, a single research monograph, or a selection of papers from a conference.

I am looking forward to continuing the tradition of MPB in publishing world-class collections on leading-edge optimization topics,” said Leyffer.