Skip to main content
Press Release | Argonne National Laboratory

Six Argonne scientists elected American Physical Society fellows

ARGONNE, Ill. — The American Physical Society (APS) has recently announced new fellows for 2007, and six Argonne scientists have been elected.

Fellowship is an honor that recognizes important work in the physical sciences by professional peers. Each nominee was evaluated by the fellowship committee of the appropriate APS division, topical group or forum. After review by the APS fellowship committee, the successful candidates are elected by the APS Council.

Michael Borland of Argonne’s Accelerator Systems Division was elected for his contributions to fourth generation light sources, particularly for development and support of the program ELEGANT, the first integrated accelerator code to realistically model coherent synchrotron radiation effects.

Paul Fenter of the Chemical Science and Engineering Division was elected for his innovative application of X-ray scattering to the study of complex molecular-scale structures and processes at organic-inorganic and mineral-water interfaces.

Stephen Gray of the Chemical Science and Engineering Division was elected for his contributions to theoretical chemical dynamics and to the understanding of the interaction of electromagnetic radiation with nanoparticles.

Albert Macrander of the X-ray Science Division was elected for advancement of X-ray science, X-ray optics and X-ray measurements on crystals and for his leadership as editor of the Review of Scientific Instruments.

Harold Spinka of the High Energy Physics Division was elected for his contributions to spin physics and leadership of symmetry experiments at ZGS, LAMPF, AGS, and RHIC. More information on his work can be found online.

Stephen Streiffer of the Center for Nanoscale Materials was elected for his experimental studies of ferroelectric thin film physics, which have established the relationships between epitaxial strain, ferroelectric phase transition behavior and domain structure and size effects, and for advancing the fundamental understanding of complex oxide thin film microstructure.