Skip to main content
Awards and Recognition | Data Science and Learning

Rajeev Thakur named IEEE Fellow

Rajeev Thakur, a senior computer scientist and deputy director of the Data Science and Learning Division at Argonne National Laboratory, has been named a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).

He was cited for contributions to high-performance interfaces for scalable computing systems.”

The society states that recognizing the achievements of its members is an important part of the mission of IEEE. Each year, following a rigorous evaluation procedure, the IEEE Fellow Committee recommends a select group of recipients for elevation to IEEE Fellow. Less than 0.1% of voting members are selected annually for this member grade elevation.”

Thakur received his Ph.D. in computer engineering from Syracuse University in 1995. He then joined Argonne’s Mathematics and Computer Science division, where he worked for more than 20 years becoming a senior scientist and deputy division director. He was director of Software Technology for the Exascale Computing Project (ECP) from 2016 to 2017 and continues as the lead for the Programming Models and Runtimes area in ECP Software Technology. He joined the newly formed Data Science and Learning division as deputy director in 2018. His research interests include high-performance computing, data science, parallel programming models, runtime systems, communication libraries and scalable parallel I/O. He has been a major contributor to the Message Passing Interface (MPI) standard, a co-author of the widely used MPICH implementation of MPI, and chief developer of the ROMIO high-performance portable implementation of MPI-IO. He is co-author of the book Using Advanced MPI: Modern Features of the Message-Passing Interface” published by MIT Press.

I am truly honored to be named an IEEE Fellow. I thank my colleagues, collaborators and mentors who have helped me throughout my career,” Thakur said.

Thakur will receive an IEEE Fellow pin and certificate in recognition of this honor.