Skip to main content
Energy Systems Division

Informing Storage Solutions to Decarbonize Electricity

Workshop convened by Argonne’s Energy Systems division on November 2-3, 2021.

Research implications from the nation’s ambitious goal to decarbonize the electric grid by 2035 are manifold. This workshop, held on Nov. 2-3, 2021, expanded upon the role of energy storage as a pivotal enabling technology for the deep decarbonization of the energy system. Argonne Senior Scientist George Crabtree and Associate Laboratory Director for Energy and Global Security Suresh Sunderrajan welcomed scientists from other national laboratories, academia, and the private sector in reviewing and guiding the use of analytical models of technology, policy, and markets to inform key future research needs and potential decarbonization pathways that are viable, affordable, and reliable.

On Day 1, participants framed the issue, discussing the current decarbonization landscape and climate policy and electricity market design.
Day 2 delved deeper, with discussions of energy storage decarbonization analytical models and datasets, opportunities and challenges they create, and considerations in applying them.

U.S. Department of Energy representatives provided important vision and context for the discussions:

Alejandro Moreno

Deputy Assistant Secretary for Renewable Power, Office of Energy Efficiency & Renewable Energy

Imre Gyuk

Director, Energy Storage Research, Office of Electricity

Eric Hsieh

Director, Grid Systems and Components, Office of Electricity

Other speakers included:

  • John Bistline, Principal Project Manager, Energy Systems and Climate Analysis Group Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)
  • Scott Burger, Senior Manager, Analytics, Form Energy
  • Wesley Cole, Researcher, Model Engineering, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • George Crabtree, Director, Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR)
  • Benjamin F. Hobbs, Theodore M. and Kay W. Schad Professor of Environmental Management, Johns Hopkins University
  • Jesse Jenkins, Assistant Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and the Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment, Princeton University
  • Paul Joskow, Elizabeth and James Killian Professor of Economics, Emeritus, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Melanie Kenderdine, Principal and Executive Vice President Energy Futures Initiative
  • Magnus Korpås, Professor, Department of Electric Power Engineering, Norwegian University of Science and Technology
  • Jonghwan Kwon, Energy Systems Engineer, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Todd Levin, Principal Energy Systems Engineer, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Arshad Mansoor, President and Chief Executive Officer, EPRI
  • M. Granger Morgan, Hamerschlag University Professor of Engineering, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Rebecca O’Neil, Advisor, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Robert Rosner, William E. Wrather Distinguished Service Professor, Astronomy & Astrophysics and Physics University of Chicago
  • Ramteen Sioshansi, Professor, Integrated Systems Engineering, The Ohio State University
  • Venkat Srinivasan, Director, Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science, and Deputy Director, JCESR
  • Sonja Wogrin, Professor and Head of the Institute of Electricity Economics and Energy Innovation, Graz, Styria, Austria

View the agenda and speaker biographies.
Access select speaker presentations.