Skip to main content
Featured Event | Argonne National Laboratory

Maria Goeppert Mayer Historic Site Designation

The American Physical Society has named Argonne National Laboratory an historic physics site in recognition of the pioneering work of former Argonne physicist and Nobel laureate Maria Goeppert Mayer.

It was at Argonne that Goeppert Mayer conducted the research for which she received the Nobel Prize in Physics. Representatives of the Society — the world’s second-largest professional association of physicists, with more than 55,000 members — will be on hand to present a plaque to Argonne leadership commemorating Dr. Goeppert Mayer’s contributions to the world of science.


American Physical Society