Skip to main content
Materials Manufacturing Innovation Center

Frontiers in Materials Manufacturing: Future of Energy Storage

Future of Energy Storage
Thursday, November 19, 2020 • 10:00 AM – 12:30 PM CT

As the world pursues electrification and the rapid deployment of low-cost renewable power sources as keys to decarbonizing the economy, the importance of high-capacity, long-lived, safe energy storage solutions will continue to grow. Manufacturing is central to an innovation-driven economy, and the U.S. must be competitive in order to capitalize on the growth of the energy storage sector in order to realize national security, prosperity and resilience. What is the path to increased U.S. competitiveness in this global manufacturing arena, and how can the Department of Energy’s national laboratories support it? Experts on this discussion included:

  • Yet-Ming Chiang, Co-Founder, Form Energy, and Kyocera Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Joe Cresko, Chief Engineer, Advanced Manufacturing Office, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Tim Ellis, President, RSR Technologies
  • David Howell, Director of the Vehicle Technologies Office, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Toivo Kodas, Executive Director for Energy Storage and Performance Materials New Business Development, Cabot Corporation
  • Vineet Mehta, Director of Battery Technology and Powertrain Architecture and Modeling, Tesla
  • Glen Merfeld, Vice President and Chief Technology Officer, Albemarle
  • Willy Shih, Robert and Jane Cizik Professor of Management Practice, Harvard Business School

Venkat Srinivasan, Director of the Argonne Collaborative Center for Energy Storage Science (ACCESS) and deputy director of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR) along with Susan Babinec, Argonne Program Lead, Stationary Storage, moderated the webinar. The webinar concluded with a virtual tour where you were able to see state-of-the art equipment and technologies available to industry partners in Argonne’s newly expanded Materials Engineering Research Facility and other key battery materials research facilities.

View the agenda and speaker biographies.

Speakers Joe Cresko, Glen Merfeld, and Tim Ellis have made their presentations available for review.