Skip to main content
Awards and Recognition | Mathematics and Computer Science

Argonne’s Valerie Taylor named AAAS Fellow

Valerie Taylor, director of the Mathematics and Computer Science (MCS) division at Argonne National Laboratory, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Since 1874, the AAAS Council has recognized AAAS Fellows for their achievements across disciplines, from research, teaching and technology, to administration in academia, industry and government, to excellence in communicating and interpreting science to the public. Taylor was cited for contributions to the performance analysis and modeling of high-performance scientific applications and leadership with broadening participation in computing.”

 I am honored to be elected an AAAS Fellow,” Taylor said. ​“The Association is a leader in promoting science and engineering research in a variety of fields, and I look forward to working with colleagues in advancing scientific discovery as we face new challenges and opportunities raised by extreme-scale computing.”

Taylor received her Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1991. For the next 11 years, she was a faculty member in the Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department at Northwestern University. In 2003, Taylor joined Texas A&M University, where she served both as a professor and department head of Computer Science and Engineering and subsequently as senior associate dean of academic affairs in the College of Engineering. She joined Argonne in 2017 as director of the MCS division and in 2019 was named an Argonne Distinguished Fellow.

Taylor has developed and used models to analyze the performance of parallel scientific applications. Her current research focuses on performance-power tradeoffs and power-aware predictive models to improve the energy efficiency of scientific applications. She has also been exploring a co-design approach to microelectronics. Her research and leadership have been recognized by numerous awards, including the 2018 Outstanding Electrical and Computer Engineering Award from Purdue University and the 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award in Electrical Engineering from the University of California, Berkeley. In 2021 she was honored by HPCwire as their Editors’ Choice for Outstanding Leadership in High-Performance Computing. She is a Fellow of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers and the Association for Computing Machinery.

In addition to her research, Taylor has been an ardent proponent of diversity. For example, in 2001 she co-founded the Tapia Conference, which has become the premier conference for the celebration of diversity in computing; and in 2005, she co-founded Academic Career Workshops for Underrepresented Participants for senior graduate student, postdoctoral associates and junior faculty at Northwestern University. She received the 2002 CRA Nico Habermann Award for increasing the diversity in computing and the 2005 Tapia Achievement Award for Scientific Scholarship, Civic Science, and Diversifying Computing

The induction ceremony will take place in the spring of 2023 in Washington, D.C.

The list of the newly elected AAAS Fellows at Argonne can be found at the Argonne website.