Skip to main content
Awards and Recognition | Mathematics and Computer Science Division

Iwasaki receives Maria Goeppert Mayer fellowship

Shintaro Iwasaki, a postdoctoral appointee in the Mathematics and Computer Science (MCS) Division at Argonne National Laboratory, has received a Maria Goeppert Mayer fellowship.

The fellowship is awarded to outstanding doctoral scientists and engineers who are at early points in their careers. Recipients must display superb ability in scientific or engineering research and must show definite promise of becoming leaders in the research they pursue. The fellowship is named after Maria Goeppert Mayer, who worked at Argonne in the 1960s as a senior physicist and won the Nobel Prize in physics in 1963.

Iwasaki obtained his B.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Tokyo. His research interests include parallel languages, compilers, runtime systems and scheduling techniques for high-performance computing. His recent research has focused on the use of user-level threads for achieving high performance without incurring significant overhead costs. He is part of a team of researchers who are developing Argobots, a lightweight and highly flexible multithreading framework, which was a finalist for a 2020 R&D 100 award. Moreover, in September Iwasaki received an Argonne 2020 Outstanding Postdoctoral Performance Award in the area of applied research.

 I am deeply honored to be named a Maria Goeppert Mayer Fellow at Argonne,” Iwasaki said. The Programming Models and Runtime Systems group in MCS has provided me with both support and encouragement to explore new multithreading strategies for tackling challenging problems facing libraries such as OpenMP and MPI. I look forward to continuing this exciting work, which is important for using emerging exascale architectures effectively.” 

The Maria Goeppert Mayer fellowship is awarded annually. Fellows may renew their appointments on an annual basis for up to three years. For further information about the fellowship, click here.