Skip to main content
Mathematics and Computer Science Division

Wilkinson Fellowship in Scientific Computing

The Mathematics and Computer Science (MCS) Division of Argonne National Laboratory invites outstanding candidates to apply for the J. H. Wilkinson Fellowship in Scientific Computing.

In order to receive full consideration, applications and letters should
be submitted by December 8, 2017. The selection process is expected to
conclude in late winter/early spring of 2018.

This fellowship was created in memory of James Hardy Wilkinson, F.R.S., who had a close association with the Mathematics and Computer Science Division as a consultant and guiding spirit for the EISPACK and LINPACK projects. The Wilkinson Fellowship is intended to encourage scientists actively engaged in state-of-the-art research in scientific computing. Candidates must have received a recent Ph.D. prior to the beginning of the appointment. The benefits of the appointment include a highly competitive salary, moving expenses, and a generous professional travel allowance.

The appointment is for one year and may be renewed for another year in the MCS Division, which has strong programs in scientific computing, software tools, and computational mathematics. Of special interest are algorithms and software for linear algebra, optimization, differential equations, computational differentiation, uncertainty quantification, stochastic systems, statistics, and
unstructured mesh computations; software tools for parallel computing; and numerical methods for computational science problems and the analysis of big data. 

Argonne is located in the southwestern Chicago suburbs, offering the advantages of affordable housing, good schools, and easy access to the cultural attractions of the city.

How to Apply:

If you are interest in this opportunity, please apply at http://​bit​.ly/​2​g​sH9ff.

Interested candidates can also apply for an Argonne Named Postdoc position. Please contact wilkinson@​mcs.​anl.​gov if you are interested in this opportunity.

2018 Wilkinson Postdoctoral Fellowship committee:

  • Sven Leyffer (chair)
  • Anthony Austin
  • Prasanna Balaprakash
  • Julie Bessac 
  • Emil Constantinescu
  • Anshu Dubey
  • Misun Min
  • Barry F. Smith
  • Stefan M. Wild

J.H. Wilkinson Fellows

  • Anthony Austin (2016-2017)
  • Torsten Bosse (2014-2015)
  • Drew Kouri (2012-2013)
  • Jieqiu Chen (2010-2011)
  • Emil M. Constantinescu (2008- 2009)
  • Jaydeep Bardhan (2006- 2007)
  • Taehun Lee (2005)
  • Michael Friedlander (2002-2003)
  • Traian Iliescu (2000-2001)
  • Mihai Anitescu (1997-1998)
  • Richard Lehoucq (1995-1996)
  • Andrew Conley (1993-1994)
  • Barry F. Smith (1990-1991)
  • Magnus Ewerbring (1989)
  • Christian Bischof (1988)