Argonne National Laboratory


Argonne’s Materials Science Division contains more than 200 scientists and engineers dedicated to understanding the structure and function of the materials that make up our world as well as developing new breakthroughs and technologies from them.

The leadership team for the Materials Science Division is shown below.

Michael Norman
Division Director & Argonne Distinguished Fellow

Mike Norman is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow and Director of the Materials Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory. He is also a principal investigator in the Center for Emergent Superconductivity, a DOE Energy Frontier Research Center. He became a Fellow of the American Physical Society in 1995, received the University of Chicago Distinguished Performance Award in 1999, was on the Editorial Board of Physical Review B from 2000-2005, and is currently on the Editorial Board for Physical Review X.

John Mitchell
Argonne Distinguished Fellow & Associate Division Director & Group Leader, Emerging Materials

John F. Mitchell is a senior scientist and Associate Director of the Materials Science Division at Argonne National Laboratory. He received his A.B. from Cornell University in 1987 and his Ph.D. from the University of Chicago in 1993 for theoretical studies of defect structures and order-disorder transitions of early transition metal chalcogenides. His current research emphasizes strategic synthesis, crystal growth, and structural studies of correlated electron transition metal oxides and chalcogenides using neutron and X-ray scattering.

Beverly A. Marzec
Assistant Division Director

Beverly Marzec joined the Materials Science Division in January 2012. In her current role, she is responsible for the administrative and operational functions of the division, supports and oversees the day-to-day activities and performance, and provides interface between laboratory organizations. She has a Bachelor of Arts degree in Business Administration from Lewis University.