Argonne National Laboratory

Suzanne G.E. te Velthuis


Dr. Suzanne te Velthuis, physicist in the Neutron and X-ray Scattering group in the Materials Science Division, has been studying the physics of magnetic thin films and nanostructures throughout her career, focusing on using techniques such as neutron scattering, NMR, XMCD and magneto-optical Kerr microscopy. She was instrument scientist of the POSY1 polarized neutron reflectometer at IPNS from 2001 until the shutdown of that facility in 2009 and consequently is a world recognized expert in polarized neutron scattering, and reflectivity in particular, which is the most commonly used neutron scattering technique for studying magnetic films. With her work she has contributed to the understanding of exchange bias and exchange coupling, competition of various interactions at the interfaces of complex oxide heterostructures, such as superconducting spin switches and digitally ordered manganites, and magnetic skymions.

In 2014 the American Physical Society elected her as a Fellow for contributions to the understanding of magnetic heterostructures utilizing polarized neutron reflectivity.

Current professional activities include serving as Past-Chair of the American Physical Society’s Topical Group on Magnetism and its Applications, and as General Chair for the 2019 Joint Intermag/MMM Conference.