Argonne National Laboratory

Press Releases

Date Postedsort ascending
Argonne scientists and collaborators used the Gammasphere, this powerful gamma ray spectrometer, to help create the right conditions to cause and spot a long-theorized effect called nuclear excitation by electron capture. (Image by Argonne National Laboratory.)
Captured electrons excite nuclei to higher energy states

For the first time, scientists demonstrated a long-theorized nuclear effect called nuclear excitation by electron capture. This advance tests theoretical models that describe how nuclear and atomic realms interact and may also provide new insights into how star elements are created.

February 9, 2018
A comparison of the theoretical calculations (top row) and inelastic neutron scattering data from ARCS at the Spallation Neutron Source (bottom row) shows the excellent agreement between the two. The three figures represent different slices through the four-dimensional scattering volumes produced by the electronic excitations. (Image by Argonne National Laboratory.)
Breaking bad metals with neutrons

By combining the latest developments in neutron scattering and theory, researchers are close to predicting phenomena like superconductivity and magnetism in strongly correlated electron systems. It is likely that the next advances in superconductivity and magnetism will come from such systems, but they might also be used in completely new ways such as quantum computing.

January 11, 2018
Four Argonne researchers appointed fellows of scientific societies

A select group of scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory has been honored as fellows of the American Physical Society and the Electrochemical Society. Physicists Kawtar Hafidi and Michael Carpenter have been appointed as American Physical Society fellows and Materials Scientist Khalil Amine and Chemist Chris Johnson have been elected as Electrochemical Society fellows.

October 20, 2017
Matt Dietrich is a physicist in Argonne’s Physics Division. His research into new physics beyond the Standard Model, which could provide clues as to why matter dominates our universe, earned him a 2017 DOE Early Career Research award. (Image courtesy of Matt Dietrich.)
Two Argonne scientists receive DOE Early Career Research Program awards

Argonne scientists Matt Dietrich and Tom Peterka have received DOE Early Career Research Program awards. Peterka was awarded for his work to redefine scientific data models to be communicated, stored and analyzed more efficiently. Dietrich was recognized for his work probing potential new physics beyond the Standard Model that could help explain why matter came to dominate the universe.

August 22, 2017
Argonne physicist Kawtar Hafidi has been named the next director of the laboratory’s physics division. (Image by Wes Agresta/Argonne National Laboratory.)
Kawtar Hafidi named director of Physics Division

Argonne associate chief scientist Kawtar Hafidi has been named the laboratory’s next physics division director.

January 23, 2017
Harry Weerts has been named the associate laboratory director for Argonne's Physical Sciences and Engineering directorate. (Click image to view larger.)
Weerts to lead Physical Sciences and Engineering directorate

Hendrik (Harry) Joseph Weerts has been named the associate laboratory director for the Physical Sciences and Engineering directorate at Argonne National Laboratory.

August 10, 2015
Butterflies are drawn to water from the deep Guarani aquifer as scientists sample it to determine how long the water has been underground. The study found that helium filters from the Earth’s crust into aquifers, where it is carried to the surface and released. Photo by Wei Jiang, Argonne National Laboratory. (Click image to enlarge)
Underground helium travels to the Earth’s surface via aquifers, new study says

Before it can put the party in party balloons, helium is carried from deep within the Earth’s crust to the surface via aquifers, according to new research published this week in Nature Geosciences.

December 5, 2014