Skip to main content

Katie Sautter

Postdoctoral Appointee

I focus on materials processing, particularly in molecular and chemical beam epitaxy. I am especially interested in crystallography and how processing changes a material’s structure.



  • Doctor of Philosophy in Materials Science and Engineering; Boise State University; Graduated May 2021; 4.00 GPA
  • Bachelor’s of Science in Materials Science and Engineering; Pennsylvania State University; Graduated Cum Laude May 2017; 3.89 Major GPA


Professional Experience

  • Postdoctoral Appointee at Argonne National Laboratory in molecular/chemical beam epitaxy of oxide heterostructures for quantum memory devices (May 2021 - Present)
  • Graduate Research Assistant at Boise State University in growing tensile-strained germanium quantum dots on non-traditional III-V surfaces with molecular beam epitaxy (Aug 2017 - May 2021)
  • Project manager for the STEM Gala at Boise State University (Aug 2018 - May 2021)
  • Graduate teaching assistant for Materials for Society (MSE 246)” and Crystallography and Crystal Chemistry (MSE 605)” at Boise State University (Jan 2018 - May 2018; Jan 2020 - December 2020)
  • Senior thesis undergraduate researcher at Pennsylvania State University, working on the synthesis of inorganic (amorphous hydrogenated silicon) flexible electronics (Aug 2016 - May 2017)
  • Science undergraduate laboratory intern (SULI) at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL), working on non-selective etchants for processing III-V, high-efficiency solar cells (May 2016 - Aug 2016)
  • Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) intern at the University of Utah, working on topological insulator synthesis via chemical vapor deposition (May 2015 - July 2015)



  •  K.E. Sautter, T.A. Garrett, K. Saythavy, P. Eusepi, M. Abramson, H.J. Coleman, B. Liang, K.A. Grossklaus, T.E. Vandervelde, and P.J. Simmonds, in progress (2021).
  •  K.E. Sautter, C.F. Schuck, J.C. Smith, K.D. Vallejo, T.A. Garrett, H.J. Coleman, M.H. Henry, E. Jankowski, C. Ratsch, and P.J. Simmonds, Cryst. Growth Des., 21, 1674-1682 (2021).
  •  K.E. Sautter, K.D. Vallejo, and P.J. Simmonds, J. Appl. Phys., 128, 031101 (2020).
  •  K.E. Sautter, C.F. Schuck, T.A. Garrett, A.E. Weltner, K.D. Vallejo, D. Ren, B. Liang, K.A. Grossklaus, T.E. Vandervelde, and P.J. Simmonds, J. Cryst. Growth 533, 125468 (2020).
  •  K.D. Vallejo, T.A. Garrett, K.E. Sautter, K. Saythavy, B. Liang, and P.J. Simmonds, J. Vac. Sci. Technol. B 37, 061810 (2019).



  •  Presented at the AVS Pacific Northwest Chapter 2020 Symposium Virtual Meeting (2020)
  •  Awarded Graduate Student Teaching Award, TA of the Year,” by BSU Materials Sci. & Eng. Department (2020)
  •  Awarded $4,000 Shine-On Scholarship for the GREEN Program (2020)
  •  Awarded prestigious GREEN Program placement for the Kathmandu, Nepal Program (2019)
  •  Presented at the 35th North American Conference on MBE (NAMBE 2019) in Ketchum, ID (2019)
  •  Awarded Honorable Mention for the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (2019)
  •  Presented at the American Physical Society (APS) March Meeting 2018 in Boston, MA (2019)
  •  Presented at the 34th North American Conference on Molecular Beam Epitaxy (NAMBE 2018) in Banff, AB (2018)
  •  Awarded two Associated Students of Boise State University travel grants (2018)
  •  Presented at the APS March Meeting 2018 in Los Angeles, CA (2018)
  •  Graduated Cum Laude from the College of Earth and Mineral Sciences at Penn State (2017)
  •  Won 2nd place (37 entrants) in the College of Earth & Mineral Sciences Undergraduate Poster Exhibition (2016)
  •  Awarded SULI scholarship placement from the DOE at NREL (2016)
  •  Earned five merit scholarships from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering (2013-2016)
  •  Earned one merit scholarship from the College of Earth & Mineral Sciences (2016)
  •  Awarded REU scholarship from the University of Utah’s MRSEC program (2015)
  •  Received the President’s Freshman Award for accomplishing a 4.0 GPA in the first undergraduate semester (2014)
  •  Awarded WISER Scholarship Placement based on high school merit (2013)