Skip to main content
Awards and Recognition | Argonne National Laboratory

Three Argonne scientists elected American Physical Society fellows

The scientists are recognized for their contributions to nuclear physics and quantum information science.

The American Physical Society (APS) Fellowship is an honor signifying recognition by one’s professional peers, awarded each year to less than one-half of 1% of APS members.

Each nominee is evaluated by the fellowship committee of the appropriate APS division, topical group or forum. After review by the APS fellowship committee, the successful candidates are elected by the APS Council.

This year, APS awarded fellowships to three scientists at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory:

Jason Clark of the Physics division was elected for high-precision mass measurements critical to the understanding of nucleosynthesis and for development of improved techniques to enable such measurements.

Aashish Clerk of the Materials Sciences division was elected for fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum optomechanical systems, quantum dissipation engineering and other areas of quantum optics.

Paul Reimer of the Physics division was elected for important experimental insight into the structure of the proton, most notably in using the Drell-Yan reaction to measure the flavor dependence of the sea of antiquarks in the proton.

Argonne National Laboratory seeks solutions to pressing national problems in science and technology. The nation’s first national laboratory, Argonne conducts leading-edge basic and applied scientific research in virtually every scientific discipline. Argonne researchers work closely with researchers from hundreds of companies, universities, and federal, state and municipal agencies to help them solve their specific problems, advance America’s scientific leadership and prepare the nation for a better future. With employees from more than 60 nations, Argonne is managed by UChicago Argonne, LLC for the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science.

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time. For more information, visit https://​ener​gy​.gov/​s​c​ience.