Skip to main content
Mathematics and Computer Science

J. H. Wilkinson Prize for Numerical Software

In honor of the outstanding contributions of Dr. James Hardy Wilkinson to the field of numerical software, Argonne National Laboratory, the National Physical Laboratory, the Numerical Algorithms Group and SIAM established the Prize back in 1991

Rules for Submission

For eligibility and submission information, please see https://​www​.siam​.org/​P​r​i​z​e​s​-​R​e​c​o​g​n​i​t​i​o​n​/​M​a​j​o​r​-​P​r​i​z​e​s​-​L​e​c​t​u​r​e​s​/​D​e​t​a​i​l​/​j​a​m​e​s​-​h​-​w​i​l​k​i​n​s​o​n​-​p​r​i​z​e​-​f​o​r​-​n​u​m​e​r​i​c​a​l​-​s​o​f​tware

Previous Winners

  • 1991 prize: Linda Petzold for DASSL
  • 1995 prize: Chris Bischof and Alan Carle for ADIFOR 2.0
  • 1999 prize: Matteo Frigo and Steven Johnson for FFTW
  • 2003 prize: Jonathan Shewchuk for Triangle
  • 2007 prize: Wolfgang Bangerth, Guido Kanschat, and Ralf Hartmann for deal.II
  • 2011 prize: Andreas Waechter and Carl D. Laird for Ipopt
  • 2015 prize: Patrick Farrell, Simon Funke, David Ham, and Marie Rognes for dolphin-adjoint
  • 2019 prize: Jeff Bezanson, Stefan Karpinski, and Viral B. Shah for Julia