Skip to main content
Mathematics and Computer Science Division

Awards & Recognition

Nearly two decades of accolades


  • Young Author Award, International Federation of Automatic Control – Nonlinear Model Predictive Control Conference - Sungho Shin
  • E. O. Lawrence Award - Robert Ross


  • ACM Distinguished Member 2020Pavan Balaji
  • DOE Project Leadership Institute 2021Todd Munson
  • Outstanding Service Award  Gail Pieper
  • Argonne 2020 Outstanding Postdoctoral Performance Award  Iwasaki Shintaro
  • Pavan Balaji named Associate Editor in Chief of Special Sections for IEEE journal  Pavan Balaji
  • Secretary of SIAM Activity Group on Optimization  Stefan Wild



  • R&D 100 award, R&D Magazine – Darshan - Philip Carns, Rob Ross, Rob Latham, Shane Snyder from MCS, K. Harms from LCF
  • American Chemical Society’s 2018 Class of Influential Researcher – Victor Zavala
  • Editor in chief of Mathematical Programming Series B – Sven Leyffer
  • 2018 IEEE-Chicago Distinguished Mentoring Award Sheng Di
  • DOE Early Career Research Program Award Prasanna Balaprakash
  • ACM Distinguished Member Raj Kettimuthu
  • 2018 Del Favero department best thesis prize, MIT John Tramm
  • Patent awarded, Method for phase retrieval to reduce a sampling requirement when imaging a dynamic process” Stefan Wild and Stephan Hruszkewycz (MSD)
  • IEEE Computer Society  TCHPC) Award for Excellence for Early Career Researchers in High Performance Computing Min Si



  • ACM Fellow - Valerie Taylor
  • George Westinghouse Silver Medal from American Society of Mechanical Engineers - Elia Merzari
  • R&D100 award; NekCEM/Nek5000 - Scalable high-Order Simulation Codes - Mi Sun Min and Paul Fischer
  • Farkas Prize - Sven Leyffer
  • Distinguished Carl Adam Petri Lecture - Ian Foster
  • Government Technology Top 25 Innovators in the Public Sector - Charlie Catlett
  • 2016 NERSC Award for Innovative Use of HPC (Early Career Category) - Mi Sun Min
  • Seiichi Tejima Doctoral Dissertation Award - Abdelhalim (Halim) Amer
  • Best Paper Award at the SC workshop Computational Approaches for Cancer at SC16” - Justin Wozniak and others
  • IEEE Fellow - Franck Cappello
  • Best Paper Award, 18th IEEE Intl Conf. on High Performance Computing and Communications - Ian Foster
  • Best Paper Award, 12th International Conference on eScience - Ian Foster



  • DOE Early Career Research Program Award - Emil Constantinescu
  • Nemhauser Best Student Paper Award - Kibaek Kim
  • IEEE TCSC Young Achievers in Scalable Computing Award - Jed Brown
  • Best Paper Award, 5th Workshop on Scientific Cloud Computing - Ketan Maheshwari, Justin Wozniak, Victor Zavala Tejeda, Michael Wilde, et al.
  • 2014 SIAM SIGEST Award - Stefan Wild
  • 2014 Young Member Engineering Achievement Award - Elia Merzari (joint appointment with NE Division)
  • 2014 SIAM Activity Group on Supercomputing (SIAG/SC) Junior Scientist Prize - Jed Brown
  • Indiana University 2014 Career Achievement Award - Pete Beckman
  • IEEE TCSC Award for Excellence in Scalable Computing - Ian Foster





  • Readers’ and Editors’ Choice Award, HPCWire, DOE’s cloud computing testbed project - Magellan
  • Honorary Doctorate, Research and Advanced Studies Center of the National Polytechnic Institute of Mexico - Ian Foster


  • R&D 100 Award, R&D Magazine - PETSc
  • Fellow, Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM) - Sven Leyffer, Jorge More, and Hans Kaper
  • Fellow, Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - Ian Foster



  • AAAS Fellow - Andrew Chien
  • Patent awarded, U.S. Patent 7,180,082, Development of a method for plasma formation for extreme ultraviolet lithography-theta pinch,” - Ahmed Hassanein (Purdue), Isak Konkashbaev (Argonne) and Bryan Rice (Sematech)
  • Data Analysis Award, SC07 (Supercomputing International Conference) - Ian Foster, Ti Leggett, and Mike Papka
  • Storage Challenge Competition, SC07 (Supercomputing International Conference) - Pavan Balaji
  • Fellow, Kavli Frontiers Fellow - Todd Munson
  • Outstanding Achievement Award, National Cancer Institute’s Cancer Biomedical Informatics Grid - Raj Kettimuthu


  • IEEE Fellow - Andrew Chien
  • Lagrange Prize in Continuous Optimization, Mathematical Programming Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics - Sven Leyffer
  • Fellow, ACM - William Gropp
  • Director’s Award for Merit Review Excellence, National Science Foundation - Hans Kaper
  • Industry Leadership Award, GridWorld - Ian Foster


  • Presidential Early Career Award - Todd Munson
  • 50 Most Powerful People in Networking, Network World - Ian Foster
  • Achievement Award, World Academy of Science - Raj Kettimuthu


  • Presidential Early Career Award - Rob Ross
  • ACM Fellow - Andrew Chien
  • Arthur Holly Compton Award - Ian Foster
  • Top 50 Agenda Setter, Silicon​.com - Ian Foster
  • Annual Publishing Award, PE - Dan Negrut
  • DOE Citation 2004 MICS Accomplishments
  • Wireless Emergency Response Team Award - Sandra Bittner
  • Fellow, World Technology Network - Rick Stevens


  • Beale-Orchard-Hays Prize, Mathematical Programming Society - Jorge Moré, Todd Munson, E. Dolan
  • Top 50 Agenda Setter, Silicon​.com - Ian Foster
  • Fellow, AAASIan Foster
  • Fellow, AAASRick Stevens
  • Outstanding Mentor Award, DOE - Gregor von Laszewski
  • R&D 100 Award, R&D Magazine - Ian Foster (with S. Tuecke) for Globus Toolkit
  • Innovator of the Year, R&D Magazine - Ian Foster
  • Innovator of the Year, Info World - Ian Foster (with S. Tuecke)
  • Lovelace Medal, MIT Technology Review - Ian Foster
  • Award for Excellence in Technology Transfer, Federal Laboratory Consortium - Ian Foster and S. Tuecke
  • Illinois Innovation Award - Ian Foster
  • DOE Citation FY2003 MICS Accomplishments