Skip to main content

David Awschalom

Joint Appointment/Center for Molecular Engineering (CME)

Quantum information science and engineering


Joint Appointee, QIS Group Leader, Materials Science Division, Argonne National Laboratory

Q-NEXT Director, DOE National QIS Research Center, Argonne National Laboratory

Liew Family Professor and Vice Dean for Research, Pritzker School of Molecular Engineering, University of Chicago

Director, Chicago Quantum Exchange

Research: Quantum information science, spintronics, semiconductor physics, nanomagnetism, time-resolved optical spectroscopies

David Awschalom is a Senior Scientist at Argonne National Laboratory and the inaugural director of Q-NEXT, one of the US Department of Energy Quantum Information Science Research Centers. He is also the Liew Family Professor and Vice Dean of the Pritzker School for Molecular Engineering at the University of Chicago, and Director of the Chicago Quantum Exchange. Before arriving in Chicago, he was the Director of the California NanoSystems Institute and Professor of Physics, Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of California, Santa Barbara. He previously served as a Research Staff and Manager at the IBM Watson Research Center. Dr. Awschalom works in spintronics and quantum information engineering, exploring and controlling the quantum states of electrons, nuclei, and photons in semiconductors and molecules. His research includes implementations of quantum information processing with potential applications in computing, communication, and sensing. Dr. Awschalom received the APS Oliver Buckley Prize and Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize, the EPS Europhysics Prize, the MRS David Turnbull Award and Outstanding Investigator Prize, the AAAS Newcomb Cleveland Prize, the International Magnetism Prize from the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics, and an IBM Outstanding Innovation Award. He is a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering, and the European Academy of Sciences. Dr. Awschalom recently received a US Secretary of Energy Achievement Award.