Skip to main content

Lin X. Chen

Argonne Distinguished Fellow

Senior Chemist (Solar Energy Conversion Group) & Professor of Chemistry (Department of Chemistry, Northwestern University)


Lin X. Chen is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow and a Professor of Chemistry in Northwestern University.  She received her Ph.D. from the University of Chicago. After her postdoctoral research at UC Berkeley, she joined Argonne as a staff scientist.  In 2007, she started her joined appointment as a professor in the Chemistry Department of Northwestern University. Her research are focused on fundamental light-matter interactions of different solar energy conversion platforms, including excited state molecular structural dynamics in photocatalytic processes and photovoltaic materials; understanding roles of ultrafast and coherent electronic and atomic motions in in photochemical reactions, and functional structural dynamics of biomacromolecules on multiple spatial and temporal scales. Her main tools for research are ultrafast laser and X-ray spectroscopy/scattering and other property/structural methods in collaborations with theorists and chemists making molecules and materials. She serives as members of the Research Council for the Chemical, Biological and Geological Sciences Division, Basic Energy Science Advisory Committee (BESAC), Basic Energy Science, US Department of Energy, Senior Editor of ACS Energy Letters, Associate Editor of Chemical Science (RSC), the Advisory Editorial Board of Journal of Physical Chemistry, Chemical Physics Letters, Journal of Materials Chemistry C, Aggregates, and the International Science Advisory Committee for π-Functional Materials. She was awarded the distinguished performance award at Argonne in 2002, a highly cited scientists in 2019 by the Web of Science, with >270 publications, and >210 invited lectures, and Experimental Physical Chemistry Award from ACS Physical Chemistry Division in 2020. She is a Fellow in American Association for the Advancement of Science, Royal Society of Chemistry, and American Crystallographic Association.