Skip to main content

Linda Young

Argonne Distinguished Fellow/Group Leader


Linda Young is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow, a leader in the field of atomic, molecular and optical physics; and former director of the X-ray Science Division at Argonne. She holds a joint appointment at the University of Chicago as a professor in the Department of Physics and James Franck Institute. Her current research interests include fundamental interactions of intense X-rays with matter, nonlinear X-ray spectroscopy, and coherent ultrafast X-ray probes of nonequilibrium systems. She serves on the scientific advisory boards of many research centers with large-scale light source facilities and has served as the Chair of the Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics of the American Physical Society. Recently, she has conducted research at Argonne’s Advanced Photon Source, the Linac Coherent Light Source at the SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory and the Advanced Light Source at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.


  • Ph. D., University of California, Berkeley, 1981
  • S.B. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1976

Awards, Honors & Memberships

  • Honorary Doctorate, Uppsala University, 2023
  • Helmholtz International Fellowship, 2017
  • Argonne Distinguished Fellow, 2007
  • University of Chicago, Distinguished Performance Award, 2007
  • Distinguished Travelling Lecturer, Division of Laser Science, American Physical Society, 2007-present
  • Fellow, American Physical Society, 2000
  • Visiting Fellow of the Joint Institute of Laboratory Astrophysics (JILA), University of Colorado, 1992-1993, 2007

Select Professional Activities

  • 2022–2023 Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science. Chair 2022
  • 2020–2022 Norman F. Ramsey Prize in AMO Physics, APS Award Committee. Chair 2021
  • 2020 Irving Langmuir Award in Chemical Physics, APS Award Committee
  • 2015-2020: Scientific Advisory Committee, Paul Scherer Institute, Photon Science Directorate
  • 2012-2019: Scientific Advisory Committee, European XFEL
  • 2012-2016: Scientific Advisory Council, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, für Materialien und Energie GmbH
  • 2012-2017: DESY Scientific Council
  • 2011-2014: Vice Chair, Chair-elect, Chair of the Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics of the American Physical Society (DAMOP)
  • 2009-2015: Director, X-ray Science Division
  • 2009-2012: Chair, Linac Coherent Light Source, Scientific Advisory Committee
  • 2008-2011: American Physical Society, Physics Policy Committee
  • 2005-2007: Allis Prize Committee, American Physical Society (APS)
  • 2004-2007: Scientific Advisory Committee, Advanced Light Source, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • 2003-2011: Program Advisory Committee, Synchrotron Radiation Center, Stoughton, WI
  • 1989-2018: Associate Editor, Applied Physics Letters
  • 2003-2004: Schawlow Prize Committee, American Physical Society, Vice-Chair-Chair
  • 1999-2002: Executive Committee of Division of Atomic, Molecular and Optical Physics, APS
  • 1998-2001: Executive Committee of Division of Laser Science, APS
  • 1998-2000: F.M. Pipkin Award Committee, American Physical Society, Vice-Chair-Chair
  • 1996-1999: Executive Committee of Topical Group on Precision Measurement and Fundamental Constants, APS
  • 1996-1999: National Research Council Committee on Atomic, Molecular and Optical Science

Selected Publications 

  • Ghost-imaging-enhanced noninvasive spectral characterization of stochastic x-ray free-electron-laser pulses,” K. Li et al., Commun. Phys. 5, 191 (2022).
  • Observation of the fastest chemical processes in the radiolysis of water,” Z.-H. Loh et al., Science 367, 179-182 (2020)
  • Theoretical Tracking of Resonance-Enhanced Multiple Ionization Pathways in X-ray Free-Electron Laser Pulses,” P. J. Ho, C. Bostedt, S. Schorb, and L. Young, Phys. Rev. Lett., 113, 253001 (2014)
  • Unveiling and Driving Hidden Resonances with High-Fluence, High-Intensity X-Ray Pulses,” E. P. Kanter et al., Phys. Rev. Lett., 107, 233001 (2011)
  • Impact of hollow-atom formation on coherent x-ray scattering at high intensity,” S.-K. Son, L. Young, and R. Santra, Phys. Rev. A83, 033402 (2011)
  • Femtosecond electronic response of atoms to ultra-intense X-rays,” L. Young et al., Nature, 466, 56 (2010)
  • Controlling X-rays with light,” T. E. Glover et al., Nature Physics6, 69 (2010)
  • Electromagnetically induced transparency for x-rays,” C. Buth, R. Santra, and L. Young, Phys. Rev. Lett., 98, 253001:1-4 (2007)
  • Development of high-repetition-rate laser pump/x-ray probe methodologies for synchrotron facilities,” A. M. March et al., Review of Scientific Instruments82, 073110 (2011).
  • X-ray microprobe of orbital alignment in strong-field ionized atoms,” L. Young et al., Phys. Rev. Lett., 97, 083601:1-4 (2006)