Skip to main content

Rajesh Pathak

Postdoctoral Appointee


Rajesh Pathak is a postdoctoral appointee at functional coating group in the applied materials division (AMD) at Argonne National Laboratory.


  • Ph.D. Electrical Engineering, South Dakota State University, Brookings (May 2016-Dec.2020).   
  • M.Sc. Physics, GoldenGate Int. College, Tribhuvan University (2009-2011).

Awards, Honors and Memberships

  • Winner of Sigma Xi Award-2020, South Dakota State University.
  • SPS chapter research award-2020, South Dakota State University.
  • Outstanding reviewer for Nanotechnology-2019.
  • Young investigator invited talk-Symposium E01-Electrodeposition for Energy Applications 5 ECS PRiME meeting 2020.
  • ECS Member 2019-2022.
  • MRS member 2019-2021.

Selected Publications

  • Rajesh Pathak, Ke Chen, Ashim Gurung, Khan Mamun Reza, Behzad Bahrami, Jyotshna Pokharel, Abiral Baniya, Wei He, Fan Wu, Yue Zhou, Kang Xu, Qiquan (Quinn) Qiao. Fluorinated Hybrid Solid Interface for Dendrite-Free Lithium Deposition”. Nature Communications, 11, 93 (2020).
  • Rajesh Pathak, Ke Chen, Ashim Gurung, Khan Mamun Reza, Behzad Bahrami,Fan Wu, Ashraf Chaudhary, Nabin Ghimire, Bin Zhou, Wen-Hua Zhang, Yue Zhou, Qiquan Qiao. Ultrathin Bilayer of Graphite/SiO2 as Solid Interface for Reviving Li Metal Anode’ Advanced Energy Materials, 9, 36, (2019).
  • Rajesh Pathak, Ashim Gurung, Hytham Elbohy, Ke Chen, Khan Mamun Reza, Behzad Bahrami, Sally Mabrouk, Raju Ghimire , Matthew Hummel, Zhengrong Gu, Xiaoming Wang, Yucheng Wu, Yue Zhou, Qiquan Qiao. Self-recovery in Li-metal hybrid lithium-ion batteries via WO3 reduction.” Nanoscale 10, no. 34 (2018): 15956-15966.
  • Rajesh Pathak, Yue Zhou and Qiquan Qiao.Recent advances in lithiophilic porous framework toward dendrite-free lithium metal anode. Appl. Sci. 2020, 10(12), 4185.
  • Chen, Ke, Rajesh Pathak, Ashim Gurung, Khan Reza, Nabin Ghimire, Jyotshna Pokharel, Abiral Baniya, Wei He, James J. Wu, Qiquan (Quinn) Qiao, Yue Zhou. Copper-clad Lithiophilic Current Collector for Dendrite-Free Lithium Metal Anode.” Journal of Materials Chemistry A 8, no. 4 (2020): 1911-1919.
  • Chen, Ke, Rajesh Pathak, Ashim Gurung, Ezaldeen A. Adhamash, Behzad Bahrami, Qingquan He, Hui Qiao, Alevtina L.Smirnova, James J. Wu, Qiquan Qiao, Yue Zhou. Flower-Shaped Lithium Nitride as a Protective Layer via Facile Plasma Activation for Stable Lithium Metal Anodes.” Energy Storage Materials 18 (2019): 399-396.
  • Adhamash, Ezaldeen+, Rajesh Pathak+, Qiquan Qiao, Yue Zhou, and Robert McTaggart. Gamma-radiated biochar carbon for improved supercapacitor performance.” RSC Advances 10, no. 50 (2020): 29910-29917.
  • Adhamash, Ezaldeen, Rajesh Pathak*, Ke Chen, Md Tawabur Rahman, Ahmed El-Magrous, Zhengrong Gu, Shun Lu, Qiquan Qiao, Yue Zhou*. High-Energy Plasma Activation of Renewable Carbon for Enhanced Capacitive Performance of Supercapacitor Electrode. Electrochimica Acta 362 (2020): 137148.
  • Pathak Rajesh, Ke Chen, Yue Zhou, Qiquan Qiao. Advances in Conversion-Type Li-Metal Fluoride Battery: A Mini Review. Material Matters, Sigma Millipore, 15, no.2 (2020) 69-72.
  • Pathak, Rajesh. Lithium-Ion Battery and Beyond: Oxygen Vacancy Creation in Tungsten Trioxide and Surface Modification of Lithium Metal.” Ph.D. Dissertation (2020).
  • Wu, Fan, Rajesh Pathak, Ke Chen, Guiqiang Wang, Behzad Bahrami, Wen-Hua Zhang, and Qiquan Qiao. Inverted current–voltage hysteresis in perovskite solar cells.” ACS Energy Letters 3, no. 10 (2018): 2457-2460.
  • Zhao, Zhenxin, Rajesh Pathak, Xiaomin Wang, Zhewei Yang, Huijun Li, and Qiquan Qiao. Sulfiphilic FeP/rGO as a highly efficient sulfur host for propelling redox kinetics toward stable lithium-sulfur battery.” Electrochimica Acta (2020): 137117).