Skip to main content

Samuel D. Bader



Sam Bader is an Argonne Distinguished Fellow and was Chief Scientist for Argonne’s Center for Nanoscale Materials, emeritus as of 2014.

He served as Magnetic Films Group Leader for over a quarter century and as Associate Director of Argonne’s Materials Science Division for over a decade.

He received B.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Chemistry from UC-Berkeley, where in graduate school he worked on f-electron magnetic and superconducting systems at low temperatures. His recent research interests included creating and exploring novel spintronic systems.

He has coauthored 400 papers (26k+ citations and h=88 on Google Scholar). He is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) and of the American Vacuum Society (AVS). His honors include a U.S. Department of Energy Office of-Basic Energy Sciences (DOE-BES) Award for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Physics in 1992, the University of Chicago Award for Distinguished Performance at Argonne National Laboratory in 1994, the 2001 AVS Thornton Memorial Award, the 2007 APS David Adler Lectureship Award, and the 2018 International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Magnetism Award and Néel Medal.

He served as Chair of the APS Division of Condensed Matter in 2011-2012 and Chair of its Division of Materials Physics in 2004-2005. He is a Councilor of the APS through 2020.

He chaired the Scientific Advisory Committee of Berkeley’s Advanced Light Source. He was on the Decadal Study committee in Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (CMMP2010) of the National Research Council.

He was also a Vice President of the IUPAP and chair of its Condensed Matter Commission and its U.S. Liaison Committee.

He served on the external advisory board of the NSF Center for Energy-Efficient Electronics Science at Berkeley and the Review Com of the Advanced Science Research Center at the Japan Atomic Energy Agency in Tokai. He is an Associate Editor of Applied Physics Letters. He was twice a physics judge in the S.-T. Yau High School Science Competition in Beijing. He chaired the Materials Science External Advisory Com at the relatively new DGIST university in South Korea. In 2018 he served on the review panel for Canada’s TRIUMF facility in Vancouver.

Research Interests

  • Application of nanotechnology to create novel permanent magnets (spring magnets)
  • Laterally confined nanomagnets
  • Development of magnetic electronics
  • Bio-inspired self-assembly of magnetic nanostructures
  • Magnetic surfaces, films, wedges and superlattices, including hybrid structures, such as novel ferromagnetic-superconducting multilayers
  • Giant magnetoresistance and exchange-coupled magnetic multilayers
  • Colossal magnetoresistance in naturally layered manganites

Experimental Research Areas

Surface magnetism; metal-on-metal epitaxy; magneto-optics; surface physics; electron spectroscopies; superconductivity; synchrotron-radiation instrumentation; magnetism; (neutron scattering; lattice dynamics; low-temperature physics)

Select Publications (from 400 in print)

  • Hoffmann, S. D. Bader, Opportunities at the Frontiers of Spintronics, Phys. Rev. Applied 4, 047001 (2015)
  • Leyi Zhu, Yaohua Liu, F. S. Bergeret, J. E. Pearson, S. G. E. te Velthuis, S. D. Bader and J. S. Jiang Unanticipated proximity behavior in ferromagnet/superconductor heterostructures with controlled magnetic non-collinearity,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 110, 177001 (2013)
  • S. Jain, V. Novosad, F. Y. Fradin, J. E. Pearson, V. Tiberkevich, A. N. Slavin and S. D. Bader, From chaos to selective ordering of vortex cores in interacting mesomagnets,” Nature Commun. 3,1330 (2012)
  • J. S. Jiang, J. E. Pearson, and S. D. Bader, Direct Determination of Energy Level Alignment and Charge Transport at Metal/Alq3 Interfaces via Ballistic-Electron-Emission Spectroscopy,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 98,072505 (2011).
  • Yaohua Liu, S. G. E. te Velthuis, J. S. Jiang, Y. Choi, S. D. Bader, A. A. Parizzi, H. Ambaye, and V. Lauter, Magnetic Structure in Fe/Sm-Co exchange spring bilayers with intermixed interfaces,” Phys. Rev. B 83,174418 (2011).
  • S. D. Bader and S. S. P. Parkin, Spintronics,” Ann. Rev. Cond. Matt. Phys.1, 71 (2010).
  • D. H. Kim, E. A. Rozhkova, I. Ulasov, S. D. Bader, T. Rajh, M. Lesniak, and V. Novosad, Biofunctionalized magnetic vortex microdisks for targeted cancer cell destruction,” Nature Materials. 9, 165 (2010).
  • O. Mosendz, J. E. Pearson, F. Y. Fradin, G. E. W. Bauer, S. D. Bader, and A. Hoffmann, Quantifying spin Hall angles from spin pumping: Experiments and Theory,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 104, 046601 (2010).
  • S. J. May, P. J. Ryan, J. L. Robertson, J.-W. Kim, T. S. Santos, E. Karapetrova, J. L. Zarestky, X. Zhai, S. G. E. te Velthuis, J. N. Eckstein, S. D. Bader, and A. Bhattacharya, Enhanced ordering temperatures in antiferromagnetic manganite superlattices,” Nature Materials 8, 892-897 (2009)
  • P. Cadden-Zimansky, Ya. Bazaliy, L. M. Litvak, J. S. Jiang, Jiyeong Gu, C.-Y. You, M. R. Beasley, and S. D. Bader, Asymmetric Ferromagnet-Superconductor-Ferromagnet Switch,” Phys. Rev. B 77, 184501 (2008).
  • S. D. Bader, Colloquium: Opportunities in Nanomagnetism,” Rev. Mod. Phys. 78, 1-15 (2006).
  • G. Srajer, L. H. Lewis, S. D. Bader, A. Epstein, C. S. Fadley, E. E. Fullerton, A. Hoffmann, J. B. Kortright, K. M. Krishnan, S. A. Majetich, T. S. Rahman, C. A. Ross, M. B. Salamon, I. K. Schuller, T. C. Schulthess, and J. Z. Sun, Advances in Nanomagnetism via X-ray Techniques” (REVIEW), J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 307, 1-31 (2006).
  • Chinmei Liu, Seok-Hwan Chung, April Sutton, Funing Yan, Qiaoling Jin, A. Hoffmann, B. K. Kay, S. D. Bader, L. Makowski, and Liaohai Chen, Magnetic Viruses via Nano-Capsid Templates,” J. Magn. Magn. Mater.302, 47 (2006).
  • K. Yu Guslienko, X. F. Han, D. J. Keavney, R. Divan, and S. D. Bader, Magnetic Vortex Core Dynamics in Cylindrical Ferromagnetic Dots,” Phys. Rev. Lett. 96, 067205 (2006).
  • K. S. Buchanan, P. E. Roy, M. Grimsditch, F. Y. Fradin, K. Yu. Guslienko, S. D. Bader, and V. Novosad, Soliton-pair dynamics in patterned ferromagnetic ellipses,” Nature Physics. 1, 172 (2005).
  • Jiyeong Gu, S. D. Bader, H. Zheng, J. F. Mitchell, and J. Gordon, Heat Capacity of Naturally Layered SrO(La1-xSrxMnO3)2 Single Crystals,” Phys. Rev. B 70, 054418 (2004).
  • M. R. Fitzsimmons, S. D. Bader, J. A. Borchers, G. P. Felcher, J. K. Furdyna, A. Hoffman, J. B. Kortright, I. K. Schuller, T. C. Schulthess, S. K. Sinha, M. F. Toney, D. Weller, and S. Wolf, Neutron Scattering Studies of Nanomagnetism and Artificially Structured Materials” (REVIEW), J. Magn. Magn. Mater. 271, 103-146 (2004).