Skip to main content

Suzanne G.E. te Velthuis


Dr. Suzanne te Velthuis, physicist in the Neutron and X-ray Scattering group in the Materials Science Division, has been studying the physics of magnetic thin films and nanostructures throughout her career, focusing on using techniques such as neutron scattering, NMR, XMCD and magneto-optical Kerr microscopy. She was instrument scientist of the POSY1 polarized neutron reflectometer at IPNS from 2001 until the shutdown of that facility in 2009 and is a world recognized expert in polarized neutron scattering, and reflectivity in particular, which is the most commonly used neutron scattering technique for studying magnetic films. With her work she has contributed to the understanding of exchange bias and exchange coupling, competition of various interactions at the interfaces of complex oxide heterostructures, such as superconducting spin switches, magnetic tunnel junctions, and digitally ordered manganites. In recent years she has additionally made advances in the field of magnetic skyrmions.

She is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (2014) and  Neutron Scattering Society of America (2018).