Skip to main content
Press Release | Argonne National Laboratory

Two Argonne scientists inducted into AAAS

ARGONNE, Ill. (January 17, 2011) — Two Argonne scientists have been inducted into the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) as part of its newest class of fellows.

Argonne Distinguished Fellow John M. Carpenter and senior physicist Walter F. Henning received the honor for their contributions to the foundation and development of scientific knowledge and for pioneering new and innovative methods of research.

Carpenter was recognized for distinguished service to the materials sciences community by the original innovation of pulsed spallation neutron sources and instrumentation for research using neutron scattering facilities.”

Carpenter is known for his research in building and operating the first-ever pulsed spallation neutron sources equipped for neutron scattering, ZING-P and ZING-P’, which led to the creation of the Intense Pulsed Neutron Source in 1981.

Known as Dr. Spallation,” he helped develop similar technology used in Japan, China and several European countries, as well as the world’s most powerful spallation neutron source, the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. For his work, Carpenter received the Clifford G. Shull Prize in Neutron Science, awarded by the Neutron Scattering Society of America, in 2006.

Henning was honored for his vision in developing facilities for antiproton and heavy ion research and for his distinguished leadership of major scientific facilities both in the U.S. and Germany.”

Henning played the central role in attaining the funding to have an accelerator facility built at GSI Darmstadt, Germany’s premier nuclear physics research facility. The Facility for Antiproton and Ion Research, which Henning once directed, is an international collaboration involving 14 nations and is the site of advanced physics, biological and materials research.

He is also a recipient of the prestigious German Cross of Merit, the highest honor Germany bestows on individuals for service to the nation.

The American Association for the Advancement of Science is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science around the world by serving as an educator, leader, spokesperson and professional association. The tradition of naming AAAS Fellows began in 1874.

Since the beginning of 2010, 503 new members have been inducted into the AAAS because of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications. The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world’s largest general scientific society. AAAS was founded in 1848 and fulfills its mission to advance science and serve society” through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more.

Walter F. Henning