Skip to main content
Mathematics and Computer Science Division

Wilkinson Postdoctoral Fellowship in Scientific Computing

The Mathematics and Computer Science (MCS) Division of Argonne National Laboratory invites outstanding candidates to apply for the J. H. Wilkinson Fellowship in Scientific Computing.

This fellowship was created in memory of James Hardy Wilkinson, F.R.S., who had a close association with the Mathematics and Computer Science Division as a consultant and guiding spirit for the EISPACK and LINPACK projects.  Follow this link https://​nla​-group​.org/​j​a​m​e​s​-​h​a​r​d​y​-​w​i​l​k​inson for a wealth of further information - including videos, oral history, photos, and blogs.

The Wilkinson Postdoctoral Fellowship is intended to encourage early-career scientists actively engaged in state-of-the-art research in scientific computing.  The fellowship provides an exceptional opportunity for innovative research in computational mathematics and scientific computing on advanced computing architectures.

Areas of interest span the applied mathematics, scientific computing and computational sciences and include algorithmic differentiation, applied statistics and probability, computational fluid dynamics, data assimilation, data science, discretization of PDEs/ODEs/time-stepping, linear algebra, machine learning, meshing, modeling and simulation, solvers, multifidelity/ multilevel/ multiphysics/ multiscale algorithms, quantum computing, operations research, optimization, statistics, stochastic systems, and uncertainty quantification.

We seek applicants with interests in applying scientific computing methods to science and engineering applications. MCS scientists are working with experts in many broad areas and applying computational methods to complex scientific and engineering applications, including computational fluid dynamics (CFD), climate and weather models, molecular dynamics, power grid, design of complex systems such as PDE-constrained design of cloaking devices, as well as many other areas. Current interests at Argonne in applied mathematics, numerical software, and statistics are described at https://​www​.anl​.gov/​m​c​s​/lans

Argonne provides a collaborative, open-science environment where scientists from various disciplines are engaged in solving challenging fundamental and practical problems. We value and strive for diversity in backgrounds, experiences, and perspectives. At Argonne, one also has access to extreme-scale computing and experimental facilities.

The appointment is for one year and may be renewed for another year. The benefits of the appointment include a highly competitive salary and a generous professional allowance.

The application must include a curriculum vitae (including publications, significant presentations, and links to preprints and software); a research proposal for a two-year self-directed research program (this should include a description of how this program builds on the applicant’s current research and interests); and contact information for three non-Argonne scientists who will be asked by Argonne to submit letters of recommendation.

In order to receive full consideration, applications and letters should be submitted by January 15, 2022. The selection process is expected to conclude in early spring of 2022.

Please see https://​bit​.ly/​3​E​j59eL for more details on how to apply. For questions about the Wilkinson Postdoctoral Fellowship, please email wilkinson@​mcs.​anl.​gov.

    Recent Fellows

    Srinivas Eswar (2022-)
    Current Fellow
    Paul Manns (2020-2021)
    Assistant Professor at TU Dortmund University
    Johann Rudi (2018-2019)
    Assistant Professor at Virginia Tech
    Anthony Austin (2016-2017)
    Assistant Professor at Naval Postgraduate School
    Torsten Bosse (2014-2015)
    Scientist at Friedrich Schiller University Jena
    Drew Kouri (2012-2013)
    Scientist at Sandia National Laboratory
    Jieqiu Chen (2010-2011)
    Senior Data Scientist at Microsoft

    J.H. Wilkinson Fellows


    • Taehun Lee (2005)
    • Michael Friedlander (2002-2003)
    • Traian Iliescu (2000-2001)
    • Mihai Anitescu (1997-1998)
    • Richard Lehoucq (1995-1996)
    • Andrew Conley (1993-1994)
    • Barry F. Smith (1990-1991)
    • Magnus Ewerbring (1989)
    • Christian Bischof (1988)