Skip to main content

The Argonne Distinguished Fellow is the highest scientific/engineering rank at the laboratory, and this distinction is held by only a small fraction (approximately 3 percent) of the research staff. Staff members who achieve this rank have a widely recognized international reputation and have demonstrated exceptional achievements in science or engineering that are relevant to Argonne’s core missions (e.g., seminal discoveries or advances that have broad influence and impact) or have provided critical technical leadership of major, complex, high-priority projects or programs that impacted the future directions of the laboratory or its mission.

This distinction is conferred each year on a maximum of four members of the current R&D science and engineering staff. Researchers who have received this honor are listed below.

Computing, Environmental and Life Sciences Directorate

  • Rick Stevens

Mathematics and Computer Science Division

  • Pete Beckman
  • Sven Leyffer
  • Lois Curfman McInnes
  • Valerie Taylor

Data Science and Learning Division

  • Ian Foster
  • Rajeev Thakur

Computational Science Division

  • Salman Habib

Biosciences Division

  • Andrzej Joachimiak

Environmental Science Division

  • Julie D. Jastrow

Argonne Distinguished Fellows – Retired