Skip to main content

Anand Bhattacharya



M.Sc. Physics (Int.), Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, India

Ph.D., Physics, University of Minnesota

We seek to discover and understand novel electronic and magnetic properties that emerge in epitaxial thin films and heterostructures of various crystalline materials. We work with correlated complex oxides, and more recently also with topological semimetals.  We synthesize our samples using molecular beam epitaxy and study them using a broad range of techniques that probe their charge and spin transport properties and their magnetic and electronic structure. 

My research is supported by the US Department of Energy, Office of Science, Basic Energy Sciences. We are also part of the Center for Advancement of Topological Semimetals (Energy Frontier Research Center), and the Center for Predictive Simulation of Functional Materials.  


Fellow of the American Physical Society

Selected Publications

  1. Observation of an antiferromagnetic quantum critical point in high purity LaNiO3″, Changjiang Liu, Vincent F. C. Humbert, Terence M. Bretz-Sullivan, Gensheng Wang, Deshun Hong, Friederike Wrobel, Jianjie Zhang, Jason D. Hoffman, John E. Pearson, J. Samuel Jiang, Clarence Chang, Alexey Suslov, Nadya Mason, MR Norman, Anand Bhattacharya, Nature Communications 11, 1402 (2020). link
  2. Counter-thermal flow of holes in high-mobility LaNiO3 thin films”, Changjiang Liu, Friederike Wrobel, Jason D Hoffman, Deshun Hong, John E Pearson, Eva Benckiser, Anand Bhattacharya, Phys. Rev. B (Rapid Comm.) 99, 041114 (2019). link
  3. Local structure of potassium doped nickel oxide: A combined experimental-theoretical study”, Friederike Wrobel, Hyeondeok Shin, George E. Sterbinsky, Haw-Wen Hsiao, Jian-Min Zuo, P. Ganesh, Jaron T. Krogel, Anouar Benali, Paul R. C. Kent, Olle Heinonen, Anand Bhattacharya, Phys. Rev. Mater. 3, 11 (2019). link
  4. Probing short-range magnetic order in a geometrically frustrated magnet by means of the spin Seebeck effect”, C. Liu,  S.M. Wu, J. E. Pearson, J.S. Jiang, N. d’Ambrumenil, A. Bhattacharya, Phys. Rev. B (Rapid Comm.) 98, 060415 (2018). (Editors’ Suggestion)  link
  5. Unconventional slowing down of electronic and structural dynamics in photoexcited charge-ordered La1/3Sr2/3FeO3″, Yi Zhu, Jason Hoffman, Clare E. Rowland, Hyowon Park, Donald A. Walko, John W. Freeland, Philip J. Ryan, Richard D. Schaller, Anand Bhattacharya, and Haidan Wen. Nature Communications 9, 1799 (2018). link
  6. Oscillatory Non-collinear Magnetism Induced by Interfacial Charge Transfer in Metallic Oxide Superlattices”, Jason Hoffman, B. J. Kirby, J. Kwon, J. W. Freeland, I. Martin, O. G. Heinonen, P. Steadman, Hua Zhou, Christian M. Schlepütz, Suzanne G. E. te Velthius, Jian-Min Zuo, Anand Bhattacharya, Phys. Rev. X 6, 041038 (2016). link
  7. Spatially inhomogeneous electron gas deep in the extreme quantum limit of strontium titanate”, Anand Bhattacharya, Brian Skinner, Guru Khalsa, Alexey V. Suslov, Nature Communications 7, 12974 (2016). link
  8. Antiferromagnetic spin Seebeck effect”,  Stephen M. Wu, Wei Zhang, Amit KC, Pavel Borisov, John E. Pearson, J. Samuel Jiang, David Lederman, Axel Hoffmann, and Anand Bhattacharya. Phys. Rev. Lett. 116, 097204 (2016). link
  9. Paramagnetic spin Seebeck effect”, S.M. Wu, J.E. Pearson, A. Bhattacharya, Phys. Rev. Lett. 114, 186602 (2015). link
  10. Magnetic Oxide Heterostructures”, A. Bhattacharya and S.J. May, Annual Review of Materials Research 44: 5.15.26 (2014). link
  11. Non-volatile ferroelastic switching of the Verwey transition and resistivity of epitaxial Fe3O4/PMN-PT (011)”, Ming Liu, J. Hoffman, J. Wang, J. Zhang, B. Nelson-Cheeseman, A. Bhattacharya, Scientific Reports 3, Article No. 1876 (2013). link
  12. Delta Doping of Ferromagnetism in Antiferromagnetic Manganite Superlattices”, T.S. Santos, B.J. Kirby, S. Kumar, S.J. May, J.A. Borchers, B.B. Maranville, J. Zarestky, S. G. E. te Velthuis, J. van den Brink, and A. Bhattacharya, Phys. Rev. Lett. 107, 167202 (2011). link
  13. Quantifying octahedral rotations in strained perovskite oxide films”, S. J. May, J.-W. Kim, J. M. Rondinelli, E. Karapetrova, N. A. Spaldin, A. Bhattacharya and P.J. Ryan, Phys. Rev. B 82, 014110 (2010). link
  14. Enhanced ordering temperatures in antiferromagnetic manganite superlattices”, S. J. May, P. J. Ryan, J. L. Robertson, J.-W. Kim, T. S. Santos, S. G. E. te Velthuis, E. Karapetrova, J. L. Zarestky, J. N. Eckstein, S. D. Bader, and A. Bhattacharya, Nature Materials 8, 892 (2009). link
  15. The metal-insulator transition and its relation to magnetic structure in (LaMnO3)2n/(SrMnO3)n superlattices”, A. Bhattacharya, S. J. May, S. G. E. te Velthuis, M. Warusawithana, X. Zhai, A. B. Shah, J.-M. Zuo, M. R. Fitzsimmons, S. D. Bader, J. N. Eckstein,  Phys. Rev. Lett. 100, 257203 (2008). link

A more complete list is found here.

Recent Highlights

Current Postdocs

Current Graduate Students
Eugene Ark (jointly supervised with Prof. Vidya Madhavan, UIUC)

Former Postdocs