Skip to main content

Dafei Jin

Joint Appointment [C]



  • Ph.D. in Physics, Brown University, 2005–2011
  • B.Sc. in Physics, Nanjing University, 2001–2005

Professional Experience

  • Associate Professor, University of Notre Dame, 2022–Present
  • Scientist, Argonne National Laboratory, 2018–Present
  • CASE Fellow, University of Chicago, 2019–2022
  • Research Scientist, University of California, Berkeley, 2016–2017
  • Postdoc Associate, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2012–2015

Research Interests

  • Superconductivity, superfluidity, and Bose-Einstein condensation
  • Single-electron / single-photon quantum devices
  • Few-phonon nanomechanics and optomechanics
  • Quantum and topological photonics, plasmonics, and excitonics

Research Expertise

  • Nanofabrication and characterization
  • Cryogenic system design and operation
  • Electron transport measurement
  • Microwave small-signal measurement
  • Scanning near-field optical microscopy
  • Electron energy-loss spectroscopy
  • Picosecond pump-probe measurement
  • Micro-Raman and fluorescence measurement  
  • Real-time density-functional calculation
  • Cavity quantum electrodynamics calculation
  • Molecular dynamics simulation

Selected Publications

  • X. Zhou, X. Li, Q. Chen, G. Koolstra, G. Yang, B. Dizdar, Y. Huang, C. S. Wang, X. Han, X. Zhang, D. I. Schuster, D. Jin*, Electron charge qubits with 0.1 millisecond coherence time”, Nat. Phys. in production, arXiv:2210.12337 (2023).
  • C. Liu, X. Zhou, D. Hong, B. Fisher, H. Zheng, J. Pearson, J. S. Jiang, D. Jin, M. R. Norman, and A. Bhattacharya, Tunable superconductivity and its origin at KTaO3 interfaces”, Nat. Commun. 14, 951 (2023).
  • K. Peng, R. Tao, L. Haeberlé, Q. Li, D. Jin, G.R. Fleming, S. Kéna-Cohen, X. Zhang, and W. Bao, Room-temperature polariton quantum fluids in halide perovskites”, Nat. Commun. 13, 7388 (2022).
  • Q. Chen, I. Martin, L. Jiang, and D. Jin*, Electron spin coherence on a solid neon surface”, Quantum Sci. Technol. 7, 045016 (2022).
  • R. Tao, K. Peng, L. Haeberlé, Q. Li, D. Jin, G. R. Fleming, S. Kéna-Cohen, X. Zhang, and W. Bao, Halide perovskites enable polaritonic XY spin Hamiltonian at room temperature”, Nat. Mater. 21, 761–776 (2022).
  • X. Zhou, G. Koolstra, X. Zhang, G. Yang, X. Han, B. Dizdar, X. Li, R. Divan, W. Guo, K. W. Murch, D. I. Schuster, and D. Jin*, Single electrons on solid neon as a solid-state qubit platform”, Nature 605, 46–50 (2022).
  • R. Kleiner, X. Zhou, E. Dorsch, X. Zhang, D. Koelle, and D. Jin*, Space-time crystalline order of a high-critical-temperature superconductor with intrinsic Josephson junctions”, Nat. Commun. 12, 6038 (2021).
  • R. Chen, F. Luo, Y. Liu, Y. Song, Y. Dong, S. Wu, J. Cao, F. Yang, A. N’Diaye, P. Shafer, Y. Liu, S. Lou, J. Huang, X. Chen, Z. Fang, Q. Wang, D. Jin, R. Cheng, H. Yuan, R. J. Birgeneau, and J. Yao, Tunable room-temperature ferromagnetism in Co-doped two-dimensional van der Waals ZnO”, Nat. Commun. 12, 3952 (2021).
  • J. Xu, C. Zhong, X. Han, D. Jin, L. Jiang, and X. Zhang, Coherent gate operations in hybrid magnonics”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 126, 207202 (2021).
  • C. Liu, X. Yan, D. Jin, Y. Ma, H.-W. Hsiao, Y. Lin, T. M. Bretz-Sullivan, X. Zhou, J. Pearson, B. Fisher, J. S.l Jiang, W. Han, J.-M. Zuo, J. Wen, D. D. Fong, J. Sun, H. Zhou, and A. Bhattacharya, Two-dimensional superconductivity and anisotropic transport at KTaO3 (111) interfaces”, Science 371, 716−721 (2021).
  • J. Xu, C. Zhong, X. Han, D. Jin, L. Jiang, and X. Zhang, Floquet cavity electromagnonics”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 125, 237201 (2020).
  • X. Zhou, X. Han, D. Koelle, R. Kleiner, X. Zhang, and D. Jin*, On-chip sensing of hotspots in superconducting terahertz emitters”, Nano Lett. 20, 4197−4203 (2020).
  • D. Jin, Quantum electronics and optics at the interface of solid neon and superfluid helium”, Quantum Sci. & Technol. 5, 035003 (2020).
  • M. Otten, X. Zhou, X. Zhang, and D. Jin*, Coherent manipulation of single electrons with optical photons in condensed helium-4”, Adv. Theory Simul. 3, 2000008 (2020) – Selected as journal Front Cover.
  • X. Zhang, A. Galda, X. Han, D. Jin, and V. M. Vinokur, Strong coupling-enabled broadband non-reciprocity”, Phys. Rev. Applied 13, 044039 (2020) – Selected as Editor’s Suggestions.
  • T. Kanai, W. Guo, M. Tsubota, and D. Jin, Torque and angular-momentum transfer in merging rotating Bose-Einstein condensates”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 124, 105302 (2020).
  • X. Zhang, K. Ding, X. Zhou, J. Xu, and D. Jin, Experimental observation of exceptional surface in synthetic dimensions with magnon polaritons”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 123, 237202 (2019) – Selected as Editor’s Suggestions. 
  • D. Jin, Y. Xia, T. Christensen, M. Freeman, S. Wang, K. Y. Fong, G. Gardner, S. Fallahi, Q. Hu, Y. Wang, L. Engel, Z.-L. Xiao, M. J. Manfra, N. X. Fang, and X. Zhang, Topological kink magnetoplasmons on magnetic domain boundaries”, Nat. Commun. 10, 4565 (2019).
  • Y. Liu, J. Wang, S. Kim, H. Sun, F. Yang, Z. Fang, N. Tamura, R. Zhang, X. Song, J. Wen, B. Z. Xu, M. Wang, S. Lin, Q. Yu, K. B. Tom, Y. Deng, J. Turner, E. Chan, D. Jin, R. O. Ritchie, A. M. Minor, D. C. Chrzan, M. C. Scott, and J. Yao, Helical van der Waals crystals with discretized Eshelby twist”, Nature 570, 358−362 (2019).
  • K. Y. Fong, D. Jin, M. Poot, A. Bruch, H. X. Tang, Phonon coupling between a nanomechanical resonator and a quantum fluid”, Nano Lett. 19, 3716−3722 (2019).
  • J. Xu, M. K. Ma, M. Sultanov, Z.-L. Xiao, Y.-L. Wang, D. Jin, Y.-Y. Lyu, W. Zhang, L. N. Pfeiffer, K. W. West, K. W. Baldwin, M. Shayegan, and W.-K. Kwok , Negative Longitudinal Magnetoresistance in GaAs Quantum Wells”, Nat. Commun. 10, 287 (2019).
  • K. Tom, S. lin, L. Wan, J. Wang, N. Ahlm, A. N’Diaye, K. Bustillo, J. Huang, Y. Liu, S. Lou, R. Chen, S. Yan, H. Wu, D. Jin, H. Yuan, D. Prendergast, and J. Yao, Solution-based Template-assisted Realization of Large-scale Graphitic ZnO”, ACS Nano 12, 7554−7561 (2018) – Selected as Editor’s Highlights.
  • D. Jin, T. Christensen, M. Soljacic, N. X. Fang, L. Lu, and X. Zhang, Infrared Topological Plasmon in Graphene”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 118, 245301 (2017) – Selected as Editor’s Suggestions.
  • Q. Hu, D. Jin*, J. Xiao, S. H. Nam, X. Liu, Y. Liu, X. Zhang, and N. X. Fang, Ultrafast fluorescent decay induced by metal-mediated dipole-dipole interaction in two-dimensional molecular aggregates”, PNAS 114, 10017 (2017) – Featured in MIT News.
  • D. Jin, L. Lu, Z. Wang, C. Fang, J. D. Joannopoulos, M. Soljacic, L. Fu, and N. X. Fang, Topological Magnetoplasmon”, Nat. Commun. 7, 13486 (2016).
  • D. Jin, Q. Hu, D. Neuhauser, F. von Cube, Y. Yang, R. Sachan, T. S. Luk, D. C. Bell, and N. X. Fang, Quantum-Spillover Enhanced Plasmonic Absorption at the Interface of Silver and High-Index Dielectrics”, Phys. Rev. Lett. 115, 193901 (2015) – Featured in MIT News.
  • D. Jin, A. Kumar, K. H. Fung, J. Xu, N. X. Fang, Terahertz Plasmonics in Ferroelectric-Gated Graphene”, Appl. Phys. Lett. 102, 201118 (2013) – Featured in MIT News.
  • D. Jin and W. Guo, Vortex Nucleation Induced Phonon Radiation from a Moving Electron Bubble in Superfluid Helium-4”, Phys. Rev. B 82, 094524 (2010).
  • D. Jin, W. Guo, W. Wei, and H. J. Maris, Electrons in Superfluid Helium-4”, J. Low Temp. Phys. 158, 307 (2010) – Selected as QFS 2009 Conference Brochure Cover.
  • W. Guo, D. Jin, G. M. Seidel, and H. J. Maris, Experiments with Single Electrons in Liquid Helium”, Phys. Rev. B 79, 054515 (2009) – Selected as APS Viewpoint in Physics.
  • D. Jin, Y. Ren, Z.-Z. Li, M.-W. Xiao, G. Jin, and A. Hu, Spin-filter Tunneling Magnetoresistance in a Magnetic Tunnel Junction, Phys. Rev. B 73, 012414 (2006).