Skip to main content

Muhsin Ameen

Principal Research Scientist


Dr. Muhsin Ameen is a research scientist in the Center for Transportation Research in Argonne’s Transportation and Power Systems division, where his research focuses on developing techniques to improve the accuracy and turnaround time of computational fluid dynamics (CFD) simulations of automotive engines. He is currently leading the development of Nek5000, a high-order spectral element code, to perform scalable simulations of internal combustion engines. He pioneered the development of a new methodology to capture cyclic variability (CCV) in engine simulations using high-performance computing (HPC) that reduces the computational cost by at least a factor of 5. He also collaborated on the development of a new turbulence-chemistry interaction model for engine simulations that reduces computational cost by 50%. He has been a key contributor toward business development efforts for Argonne’s Virtual Engine Research Institute and Fuels Initiative (VERIFI), which has led to multiple industrial collaborations.

Dr. Ameen received the 2018 Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC) Technology Transfer award. He is also a recipient of Argonne’s 2017 Postdoctoral Performance Award in Applied Research for work in the areas of CFD and HPC. He also received an Argonne National Laboratory Pacesetter Award in 2016 for co-developing a new turbulent combustion model. He is a named developer on two software copyrights. Dr. Ameen has published more than 25 papers in journals and peer-reviewed conferences.

Dr. Ameen received his PhD from Purdue University (2014) in Mechanical Engineering, with specialization in computational fluid dynamics applications for engines with a specific focus on turbulence chemistry interaction modeling and high-performance computing. He also holds a Master of Engineering degree in Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Science (2010) and a Bachelor of Technology in Mechanical Engineering from National Institute of Technology Calicut (India) (2008).