Skip to main content
Reference | Reference | Argonne National Laboratory

Argonne: By the Numbers

Fiscal Year 2021

  • Budget: $1.1 billion
  • Procurement: $537 million

Our Workforce

  • 3,532 total employees (FTEs)
  • 325 postdoctoral scholars
  • 496 graduate and undergrad students
  • 473 joint faculty
  • 6,700 facility users
  • 1,640 visiting scientists

Our Research

  • 16 research divisions
  • 5 national scientific user facilities
  • Many centers, joint institutes, program offices
  • Hundreds of research partners

Our STEM Outreach

  • Connected with 5,455 middle and high school students through virtual programming.

Argonne Distinguished Fellows

Emeritus scientists and engineers 

Argonne's Nobelists

Enrico FermiEnrico Fermi, Argonne’s founding director, won the 1938 Nobel Prize in physics for his demonstrations of the existence of new radioactive elements produced by neutron irradiation and for his related discovery of nuclear reactions brought about by slow neutrons.

Maria Goeppert MayerMaria Goeppert Mayer shared the 1963 Nobel Prize in physics. While working at Argonne in 1948, she developed the “nuclear shell model” to explain how neutrons and protons within atomic nuclei are structured.

Alexei A. AbrikosovAlexei A. Abrikosov shared the 2003 Nobel Prize in physics for research on condensed-matter physics and superconductivity.