Skip to main content
Education and Outreach Programs Division

Exemplary Student Research Program

About the Program

Using the world-class facilities at the Advanced Photon Source (APS), high school students and their teachers work with Argonne scientists to prepare a research proposal; design and set up an experiment; gather and analyze data; make conclusions; and prepare a final poster. In this program, school teams are considered to be part of the larger Argonne international synchrotron light source user community. Team posters are presented along with the rest of the user community at the annual Argonne APS/CNM User Meeting in the Spring. 

This program is designed to enhance Honors and Advance Placement STEM classes. Ideal candidates for this program are teachers who are willing to facilitate the research process with their students, can act as an intermediate between Argonne and their students, and will use this program to enrich their current curriculum.  

Exemplary Student Research Program

Registration for the 2019-2020 school year program is closed.

Registration Requirements

To qualify for the ESRP program, one participating teacher per school must:

  • Hold a valid state teaching certificate for grades 9-12.
  • Attend a workshop (August 6, 2019) to learn about the science, learn about the available research techniques and tools, and meet the scientists.

Program Activities

During the fall, teachers will attend a FREE workshop to:

  • Learn about the APS and its capabilities.
  • Get ideas for possible projects and research questions.
  • Meet Argonne scientists in the program.
  • Learn the APS user application process.
  • Learn the logistics of taking a field trip to Argonne. 

During the program, teachers and high school students will:

  • Design and conduct their own research with the guidance of teachers and scientists.
  • Use world-class facilities at the Advanced Photon Source.
  • Be immersed in the research at Argonne.
  • Encounter an authentic experience that may extend to multiple years.

2020 Participating High Schools

  • Tinley Park High School
  • Naperville Central High School
  • Neuqua Valley High School
  • Glenbard South High School
  • Lincoln-Way East High School
  • Lemont High School
  • Glenbrook South High School
  • Romeoville High School
  • Riverside-Brookfield High School
  • Glenbard East High School
  • Hoffman Estates High School
  • Bolingbrook High School
  • Lockport High School
  • Metea Valley High School
  • Maine South High School
  • Downers Grove South High School
  • Lakes High School