Skip to main content
Physics Division

Physics Division Colloquium

Schedule for the 2020-2021 season

Physics Division colloquia are held remotely via BlueJeans (until further notice) on Fridays at 11:00 a.m.
2 Oct 2020

Thomas Papenbrock, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Opportunities and Challenges in Low-Energy Nuclear Theory
Host: Kévin Fossez

9 Oct 2020

Vince Cianciolo, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Measuring the Shape of the Neutron
Host: Ivan Tolstukhin (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

16 Oct 2020

Dean Lee, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams, Michigan State University
New Tools for the Quantum Many-Body Problem
Host: Kévin Fossez (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

23 Oct 2020

Kater Murch, Washington University in St. Louis
Exploring Frontiers of Open Quantum Systems with Microwave Quantum Circuits
Host: Kévin Fossez (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

30 Oct 2020

No colloquium
2020 Fall Meeting of the APS Division of Nuclear Physics
Virtual meeting, 29 October - November 1, 2020

6 Nov 2020

Roxanne Springer, Duke University
American Physical Society Division of Nuclear Physics Allies Program
Host: Corey Adams

13 Nov 2020

Junhong Chen, Argonne National Laboratory and the University of Chicago
Molecular Engineering of Field-Effect Transistor Water Sensors Based on 2D Nanomaterials
Host: Paul Reimer (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

20 Nov 2020

Benjamin Jones, University of Texas, Arlington
Better Neutrinoless Double Beta Decay through Biochemistry
Host: Corey Adams

27 Nov 2020

No colloquium, Thanksgiving

4 Dec 2020

Diana Parno, Carnegie Mellon University
The Unbearable Lightness of Neutrinos
Host: Paul Reimer (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

11 Dec 2020

Jonathan Engle, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Low Energy Radionuclide Production for Medical Applications
Host: Dave Rotsch (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

18 Dec 2020

Tyler Lyson, Denver Museum of Nature and Science
Rise of the Mammals: Exceptional Continental Record of Biotic Recovery after the Cretaceous–Paleogene Mass Extinction
Host: Birger Back

25 Dec 2020

No colloquium, winter break

1 Jan 2021

No colloquium, winter break

8 Jan 2021

Julieta Gruszko, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Shedding Nu’ Light on the Nature of Matter: The Search for Majorana Neutrinos
Host: Corey Adams

15 Jan 2021

Yaniv Erlich, Columbia University
DNA of Things
Host: Birger Back

22 Jan 2021
29 Jan 2021

Philip Phillips, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Beyond BCS: An Exact Model for Superconductivity and Mottness
Host: Sylvester Joosten

5 Feb 2021

Richard Furnstahl, The Ohio State University
Short-Range-Correlation Physics in Atomic Nuclei
Host: Kévin Fossez

12 Feb 2021

Ekaterina Dadachova, University of Saskatchewan
Radioimmunotherapy for Hard to Treat Infections
Host: Dave Rotsch

19 Feb 2021

Stephen Graves, University of Iowa
From Baryon to Bedside: the Physics of Beta-emitting Radiopharmaceuticals
Host: Dave Rotsch

26 Feb 2021

Christoph Düllmann, Johannes Gutenberg University
On Studies of Nuclear and Chemical Properties of Superheavy Elements at GSI, and a Brief Glimpse on What Actinides Are Good For
Host: Walter Reviol

5 Mar 2021

Geoff Greene, University of Tennessee
The Life and Death of the Free Neutron
Host: Walter Reviol

19 Mar 2021

Alfred Dewald, University of Cologne
AMS for Nuclear Waste Management and Absolute Transition Probabilities in Neutron Rich Titanium Isotopes
Host: Walter Reviol

26 Mar 2021
2 Apr 2021

Paul Souder, Syracuse University
Advances in PVES: PREx and Beyond
Host: Paul Reimer

9 Apr 2021

Katherine Freese, University of Texas
Dark Matter in the Universe
Host: Paul Reimer

16 Apr 2021

Peter Winter, Argonne National Laboratory
First Results from the Muon g-2 Experiment at Fermilab
Host: Paul Reimer

23 Apr 2021

Aephraim Steinberg, University of Toronto
Quantum Detective Stories: Investigating How Much Time Atoms Spend in a Forbidden Region” and How Much Time Photons Spend Inside” Atoms
Host: Paul Reimer

30 Apr 2021

Thomas LeCompte, Argonne National Laboratory
A Decade at the Large Hadron Collider: Have We Learned Anything?
Host: Paul Reimer

7 May 2021

Sergei Nagaitsev, Fermilab
Accelerator Physics at Fermilab’s IOTA Ring
Host: Ben Blomberg

14 May 2021

Seebany Datta-Barua, Illinois Institute of Technology
(Almost) Down-to-Earth: The Plasma Physics of Space Weather Forecasting
Host: Ben Blomberg

21 May 2021

Corinne Moss-Racusin, Skidmore College
Understanding and Reducing Gender Bias to Promote Excellence in STEM
Host: Corey Adams

28 May 2021

Brandi MacDonald, University of Missouri Research Reactor
The Archaeometry Lab at MURR: Artifact Provenance and Materials Sciences in Archaeology
Host: Dave Rotsch (Slides - Argonne domain account only)

4 Jun 2021

Art Champagne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and TUNL
Direct Measurements of Stellar Cross Sections
Host: Walter Reviol