Skip to main content
Argonne’s Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division scientists and engineers have been recognized individually and as teams for their outstanding contributions to their fields and to the advancement of technology from the laboratory to application.

The awards reflect the Division’s role as a science-based research, development, and early-stage engineering organization that conducts both fundamental and applied research using experimental, theoretical, and computational approaches and its commitment to mentoring young scientists and engineers.


  • John (Jack) Vaughey elected as 2018 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
  • Khal Amine named a Highly Cited Researcher for 2018 by Clarivate Analytics.  Highly cited researchers must have papers that are in the top 1% of most cited papers in a given field.
  • Ahmet Uysal, Argonne Outstanding Postdoctoral Mentoring Award
  • Larry Wall and Jeff Hinthorn, Argonne Pacesetter Award
  • Sofie Napora, Argonne Pacesetter Award
  • Robin Harris, Argonne Pacesetter Award
  • Daniel O’Hanlon, Argonne Pacesetter Award
  • Kirill Prozument, R&D 100 Award Finalist
  • Khal Amine and Chris Johnson elected Fellows of the Electrochemical Society
  • Lina Chong, Maria  Goeppert Mayer Post-doctoral Fellow
  • Robert Dunford, Division Emeritus
  • Elliot Kanter, Divsion Emeritus
  • Julius Jellinek, Division Emeritus
  • Kevin (Mike) Myles, Division Emeritus
  • Khalil Amine,  2018 Energy Storage Materials Journal Award, recognizing an outstanding scientist in the field of energy storage materials and devices who has made significant contribution and whose work shows significant innovation in the field.
  • Khal Amine, 2018 Highly Cited Researcher Clarivate Analytics
  • Paul Fenter, UChicago Argonne Board of Governors Distinguished Performance Award
  • Chris Johnson, UChicago Argonne Board of Governors Distinguished Performance Award
  • Larry Harding, Steve Klippenstein, Jim Miller, and Al Wagner elected to the inaugural class of Fellows of the The Combustion Institute 2018
  • Karen Mulfort recipient of DOE Early Career Award. The award provides support to exceptional researchers during the crucial early career years, when many scientists do their most formative work
  • Brian Ingram recipient of Secretary of Energy’s Achievement Award: The Joint Center for Energy Storage Research Operations Team
  • Stephen Klippenstein has received the 2018 Ya. B. Zeldovich Gold Medal from The Combustion Institute, one of the highest awards given to combustion researchers.


  • Peter Stair recipient of the 2017 Herman Pines Award
  • Karen Mulfort recipient of the 2017 Rising Star Award from the American Chemical Society’s Women Chemists committee.  Awarded March 2018 at the 255th National Meeting of the American Chemical Society
  • Khalil Amine and Chris Johnson inducted as Fellows of the Electrochemical Society 2017.
  • David Tiede, Argonne Distinguished Fellow for 2017
  • Ted Krause received the Board of Governors award for Outstanding Safety Leadership


  • Finalist for 2016 R&D 100 Awards; Metal-Organic-Framework Embedded Nanofibrous Catalyst from DJ Liu (CSE)
  • Argonne Distinguished Performance Award, Al Wagner
  • Argonne Pinnacle of Education Award, Sarah Soltau
  • Argonne Distinguished Fellow Lawrence B. Harding named as one of the top reviewers for the Journal of Chemical Physics.
  • The Journal of Physical Chemistry A has a special tribute honoring the seminal contributions of Argonne Distinguished Fellow Lawrence B. Harding (CSE), Senior Chemist Joe V. Michael (CSE) and Argonne Distinguished Fellow Albert F. Wagner (CSE). The team is honored for their combined 100 years of combustion kinetics studies and research at Argonne. 2015
  • 2016 International Battery Association (IBA) Early Career Award, Jason Croy
  • Lynda Soderholm named Argonne Distinguished Fellow
  • Outstanding Postdoctoral Mentor Award, Sang Soo Lee
  • Postdoctoral Appointee Rachel Klet awarded the April 2016 Gold Spot Award
  • Linda Young award Helmholtz International Fellowship


  • Sarah Soltau awarded best Postdoctoral Fellowship talk of the American Chemical Society (ACS) Fall meeting held in Boston, MA
  • National Safety Council Outstanding Safety Award: 5M hours worked without days-away injury
  • UChicago Argonne, LLC BOG Outstanding Service Award, Deborah Vervack
  • UChicago Argonne, LLC BOG Pinnacle of Education Award, Daniel Abraham
  • Michael Thackeray named recipient of the E.V. Murphree Award in Industrial and Engineering Chemistry, sponsored by ExxonMobil Research and Engineering


  • Outstanding Safety Award: 3.5 million hours worked without a day-away injury
  • Emilio E. Bunel is a recipient of the 2014 HENAAC Luminary Award
  • Lawrence Harding awarded the Bernhard Lewis Gold Medal
  • Branco Ruscic named International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry Fellow
  • 2014 R&D Award, Zhengcheng Zhang, Elizabeth Jordan, Leslie Pinnell & Christopher Kramer
  • 2014 NNSA Award for Outstanding Achievement, Megan Bennett & Sergey Chemerisov
  • U Chicago Pinnacle of Education Award, Michael D. Kaminski


  • Stephen Klippenstein named Argonne Distinguished Fellow
  • 2013 Chinese Government Award for Outstanding Self-financed Student Abroad, Jinhua Huang
  • 2013 Outstanding Postdoctoral Supervisor Award, Daniel Abraham
  • Sugden Award from the British Section of The Combustion Institute, Branko Ruscic and co-authors, Inhibition of hydrogen oxidation by HBr and Br2159 Combustion and Flame (2012) 528-540.
  • 2013 Brian Kelly Award, Vilas Pol
  • 2013 DOE Vehicle Technologies Office R&D Award, Khalil Amine
  • DOE Vehicle Technologies 2013 Distinguished Performance Award, Khalil Amine and Michael Wang
  • Energy Rock Star” Award, U.S. Department of Energy, Jim Miller


  • Khalil Amine named Argonne Distinguished Fellow
  • US DOE Secretary’s Achievement Award for work on Fukushima, Monica Regalbuto
  • 2012 Early Career Research Program Award, Richard Wilson
  • First Prize in Science as Art” competition, 2012 Materials Research Society Fall Meeting, Vilas Pol
  • AAAS Fellow, Lin Chen. Read story.
  • Director’s Award for Outstanding Safety Leadership, UChicago-Argonne Board of Governors, Andrew Jansen
  • 2012 R&D 100 Award, Khalil Amine
  • Northwestern-Argonne Early Career Investigator Award, Lynn Trahey
  • 2012 Annual Merit Review Award, Thomas Benjamin, John Kopasz and Walter Podolski
  • U.S. Drive USCAR Team Award, Walt Podolski, Tom Benjamin, John Kopasz, and Debbie Myers
  • Stephen Southworth,  American Physical Society Fellow


  • 2011 U.S. Department of Energy Secretary’s Achievement Award, Monica Regalbuto
  • 2011 Yeager Award, International Battery Association, Michael Thackeray
  • 2011 DOE Early Career Research Award, Jeff Greeley
  • 2011 Distinguished Performance Award, University of Chicago, David M. Tiede
  • 2012 ACA Warren Award, American Crystallographic Association, Paul Fenter
  • DOE Hydrogen and Fuel Cells Program and Vehicle Technologies Program Award, Jim Miller
  • U Chicago Pinnacle of Education Award, Giselle Sandi-Tapia
  • U Chicago Argonne, LLC Board of Governors for Argonne National Laboratory Outstanding Service Award, Joseph Gregar


  • 2010 Powerful Hispanics in Energy Award, Monica Regalbuto
  • DOE Vehicle Technology Merit Award, Michael Thackeray