Skip to main content
Education and Outreach Programs

Exotic Beam Summer School

The Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS) introduces students and young researchers to the science of exotic nuclei, including nuclear structure, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental interactions, and the application of nuclear science and technology.

Through this school, the research community will be able to more fully exploit the opportunities created by next-generation exotic beam facilities, such as the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams (FRIB). FRIB, along with other existing and planned exotic beam facilities around the world, will present wonderful opportunities for future discoveries and technical innovations.


The school is intended for graduate students, but senior undergraduates and junior postdoctoral researchers will also be considered. The school, held annually, rotates among the various laboratories, and is specifically designed for graduate students and postdocs (within 2 years of the PhD degree). The format of the school is unique: in the mornings, students will receive lectures from leading researchers in the field of nuclear physics with exotic beams. Lectures will focus on theoretical, experimental, technical, and applied topics. In the afternoons, the students participate in hands-on activities, learning about the techniques and instrumentation needed to carry out experiments with exotic beams.

The EBSS series is sponsored by the US Department of Energy and National Science Foundation, and by the following laboratories:

  • Argonne National Laboratory
  • Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
  • Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • The National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory at Michigan State University
  • The Association for Research at University Nuclear Accelerators (ARUNA)

Past Featured Speakers

  • R.V.F. Janssens (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • G. Hagen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • H.L. Crawford (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)
  • I. Thompson (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory)
  • R. Zegers (Michigan State University)
  • M. Syphers (Northern Illinois University)
  • C. Frohlich (North Carolina State University)
  • A. Garcia (University of Washington)
  • F.G. Kondev (Argonne National Laboratory)
  • D.C. Radford (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • P. Collon (University of Notre Dame)
  • K. Chipps (Oak Ridge National Laboratory)
  • C. Folden III (Texas A&M University)

Financial Information

Lodging and boarding expenses for participants will be covered by the school.